Friday, Sep 18, 2020 | Last Update : 02:34 PM IST

178th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra114584081235431351 Andhra Pradesh6014625080885177 Tamil Nadu5142084589008618 Karnataka4943563830777629 Uttar Pradesh3362942632884771 Delhi2347011981034877 West Bengal2155801870614183 Odisha167161133466722 Telangana1650031335551005 Bihar164224149722855 Assam150349121610528 Kerala12221687341490 Gujarat119088999083271 Rajasthan109088906851293 Haryana103773816901069 Madhya Pradesh97906743981877 Punjab90032658182646 Chhatisgarh7777541111628 Jharkhand6710052807590 Jammu and Kashmir5971138521951 Uttarakhand3713924810460 Goa2678320844327 Puducherry2142816253431 Tripura2069612956222 Himachal Pradesh11190691997 Chandigarh92566062106 Manipur8430653951 Arunachal Pradesh6851496713 Nagaland5306407910 Meghalaya4356234232 Sikkim2119178923 Mizoram15069490
  Sports   In Other sports  29 Apr 2018  Sangwan, Zareen in finals of Belgrade boxing event

Sangwan, Zareen in finals of Belgrade boxing event

Published : Apr 29, 2018, 1:27 am IST
Updated : Apr 29, 2018, 1:27 am IST

Jamuna claimed a 2-1 victory over Poland’s Laura Gryzb even as Lalfakmawii beat Russian Aleksandra Dmitrieva.

Sumit Sangwan
 Sumit Sangwan

New Delhi: Sumit Sangwan (91kg) and former junior world champion Nikhat Zareen (51kg) were among eight Indian boxers to advance to the finals, while five others claimed bronze medals at the 56th Belgrade International tournament in Serbia.

Sangwan defeated Greece’s Vagkan Nanitzanian after his opponent threw in the towel in the third round of the bout late on Friday night.


The India Open bronze medallist faces Ecuador’s Castilo Torres for the gold. Zareen out-punched Serbia’s Nina Radovanovic for a 3-0 win. The nationals bronze medallist will be up against Greece’s Aikaterini Koutsogeorgopulou of Greece in the final.

Also advancing to the finals were Himanshu Sharma (49kg), Laldinmawia (52kg), Varinder Singh (56kg), Pawan Kumar (69kg), Jamuna Boro (54kg), and Ralte Lalfakmawii (+81kg).

Himanshu defeated France’s Mohamed Radji 3-0, while Laldinmawia staved off a stiff challenge from Algeria’s Mohamed Flissi for a 2-1 win.

Varinder registered a 3-0 triumph over Algerian Khalil Litim, while Pawan also claimed a 3-0 win against local boxer Aleksander Popovic.


Jamuna claimed a 2-1 victory over Poland’s Laura Gryzb even as Lalfakmawii beat Russian Aleksandra Dmitrieva.

Among the men, Narender (+91kg) went doen to Serbia’s Vladan Babic in a split verdict to finish with a bronze.

In the women’s competition, Rajesh Narwal (48kg), Priyanka Thakur (60kg), Rumi Gogoi (75kg) and Nirmala Rawat (81kg) clinched bronze medals.   

Tags: nikhat zareen, sumit sangwan