Tuesday, Oct 20, 2020 | Last Update : 02:13 PM IST

195th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra1443409114960338084 Andhra Pradesh7192566588755981 Karnataka6406615157829286 Tamil Nadu6088555529389653 Uttar Pradesh4031013468595864 Delhi2827522506135401 West Bengal2603242287555017 Odisha222734190080912 Kerala204242131048772 Telangana1992761701091163 Bihar178882164537888 Assam169985139977655 Gujarat1332191132403417 Rajasthan1288591077181441 Haryana1237821059901307 Madhya Pradesh117588932382207 Punjab107096840253134 Chhatisgarh9856566860777 Jharkhand7770964515661 Jammu and Kashmir69832495571105 Uttarakhand4533233642555 Goa3107125071386 Puducherry2548919781494 Tripura2412717464262 Himachal Pradesh136799526152 Chandigarh112128677145 Manipur9791760263 Arunachal Pradesh8649623014 Nagaland5768469311 Meghalaya5158334343 Sikkim2707199431 Mizoram178612880
  India   All India  10 Aug 2017  Congress expels 8 Gujarat MLAs over RS cross-vote

Congress expels 8 Gujarat MLAs over RS cross-vote

Published : Aug 10, 2017, 1:28 am IST
Updated : Aug 10, 2017, 2:20 am IST

The expelled MLAs include former Gujarat CM Shankersinh Vaghela and his son Mahendrasinh Vaghela.

Ahmed Patel (Photo: PTI)
 Ahmed Patel (Photo: PTI)

New Delhi: The Congress on Wednesday expelled eight Gujarat MLAs for going against the party whip in Tuesday’s Rajya Sabha election in the state. The move comes just a day after the voting was held in Gandhinagar.

In the high-stakes contest, Congress president Sonia Gandhi’s political secretary Ahmed Patel was finally elected though only 43 of the state’s 51 Congress MLAs voted for him.


The other eight MLAs voted for BJP candidate Balwantsinh Rajput. After the party complained to the Election Commission, the votes of two of the eight MLAs were disqualified. All the eight MLAs have been expelled for six years.

The expelled MLAs include former Gujarat CM Shankersinh Vaghela and his son Mahendrasinh Vaghela. After voting, Mr Vaghela had openly admitted that he didn’t vote for the official party candidate.

Mr Patel was declared elected around midnight, after a day-long drama, and after the vote of the JD(U)’s lone MLA Chotubhai Vasava swung the election in his favour. The JD(U) had wanted 

Mr Vasava to vote for the BJP, its new ally, but the legislator later asserted he had voted for Mr Patel and attacked his party president, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, for the alliance with the saffron party.


A day after the vote, Mr Patel thanked JD(U) leader and MP Sharad Yadav for the support of his lone MLA in the Gujarat Assembly. “Thank you for your support Sharadji,” Mr Patel tweeted.

His tweet came after Sharad Yadav congratulated him on his win “in spite of toughest hurdles”. Mr Yadav has openly come out against Mr Kumar’s move to ally with the BJP in Bihar.

Tags: rajya sabha election, sonia gandhi, ahmed patel
Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi