Tuesday, Apr 23, 2019 | Last Update : 03:32 PM IST

Wildcards Gaikaiwari, Deshpande in last 8 of MSLTA KPIT U-14 tennis

Published : Jun 7, 2018, 2:04 am IST
Updated : Jun 7, 2018, 2:03 am IST

In the girls second round wildcard, Ruma Gaikaiwari upset seventh-seeded Saumya Ronde 6-4,7-6 (5).

Daksh Agarwal
 Daksh Agarwal

Wild cards Ruma Gaikaiwari and Saina Deshpande knocked out seeds to enter the girls singles quarterfinal at  MSLTA KPIT - Arun Wakankar Memorial ATF Asian under-14 Series Tennis Tournament played at the MSLTA School of Tennis Mhalunge Balewadi Tennis Complex.

In the girls second round wildcard, Ruma Gaikaiwari  upset seventh-seeded Saumya Ronde  6-4,7-6 (5), while Saina Deshpande toppled eighth-seeded  Kaashvi Thapliyal  6-2, 6-2

In the boy's section, fifth-seeded  Daksh Agarwal  struggled to get past Joshua Eapen 7-5, 5-7, 6-2, Omaansh Saharia  came from a loss of the opening set to survive against Ashwin Manikandan 4-6,7-5,6-2, while top-seeded Shivam Kadam staved off a challenge from Siddharth Marathe 6-7 (4), 6-2, 6-0 to make it to the last eight stage

Tags: mslta kpit