Saturday, Sep 26, 2020 | Last Update : 06:10 PM IST

186th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra130045899280634761 Andhra Pradesh6614585881695606 Tamil Nadu5693705138369148 Karnataka5572124503028417 Uttar Pradesh3785333136865450 Delhi2644502284365147 West Bengal2410592110204665 Odisha201059165432820 Telangana1816271501601080 Bihar175898161510881 Assam167374136712625 Kerala160935111327636 Gujarat1303911105923394 Rajasthan1247301042881412 Haryana1205781012731273 Madhya Pradesh117588932382152 Punjab107096840253134 Chhatisgarh9856566860777 Jharkhand7770964515661 Jammu and Kashmir69832495571105 Uttarakhand4533233642555 Goa3107125071386 Puducherry2548919781494 Tripura2412717464262 Himachal Pradesh136799526152 Chandigarh112128677145 Manipur9791760263 Arunachal Pradesh8649623014 Nagaland5768469311 Meghalaya5158334343 Sikkim2707199431 Mizoram178612880
  Sports   In Other sports  06 Mar 2020  Viswanathan Anand, Koneru Humpy to lead Indian challenge at Chess Olympiad

Viswanathan Anand, Koneru Humpy to lead Indian challenge at Chess Olympiad

Published : Mar 6, 2020, 7:30 pm IST
Updated : Mar 6, 2020, 7:30 pm IST

A final decision on the composition of teams is due on May 1

Chess maestro Viswanathan Anand. DC Photo
 Chess maestro Viswanathan Anand. DC Photo

Chennai: Five-time world champion Viswanathan Anand will lead the Indian team in the 44th Chess Olympiad to be held in Moscow in August with the legendary Vladimir Kramnik set to train the men's squad.

World number two Koneru Humpy will be the spearhead among Indian women in the biennial event that is likely to see participation of around 180 countries, a press release from All India Chess Federation (AICF) said. The 44th Chess Olympiad will be held from August 5 to 18.


Apart from the 50-year old Anand, Grandmasters P Harikrishna and Vidit Gujrathi appear to be certainties in the men's team. However, it could be a close race for the remaining spots in the five-member men's team.

B Adhiban is expected to take one of the places on current form while the likes of K Sasikiran, S P Sethuraman, Surya Shekhar Ganguly and Aravindh Chithambaram would also be in contention for other spots in the team.

Humpy and Dronavalli Harika will form part of the women's team on the basis of their rankings, while Tania Sachdev, Bhakti Kulkarni and R Vaishali are front-runners for the remaining three slots on current form.


A final decision on the team composition will be based on how the players perform in the coming months, the AICF release said. As per rules, the final decision on the composition of the team can be taken only on May 1.

Tags: viswanathan anand, koneru humpy, dronavalli harika
Location: India, Tamil Nadu, Chennai (Madras)