Tuesday, Aug 04, 2020 | Last Update : 02:14 AM IST

133rd Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra45019628703015842 Tamil Nadu2632222022834241 Andhra Pradesh166586886781537 Karnataka139571625002594 Delhi1384821242544021 Uttar Pradesh97362553931778 West Bengal78232548181731 Telangana6766048609551 Gujarat64684476632504 Bihar5956738508336 Rajasthan4555532051719 Assam4527633429109 Haryana3717330470440 Odisha3629723074248 Madhya Pradesh3428524099900 Kerala268731527885 Jammu and Kashmir2200614032407 Punjab1852711882442 Jharkhand135004794125 Chhatisgarh9820725661 Uttarakhand7800453890 Goa6816487656 Tripura5389360527 Puducherry3982241156 Manipur292017667 Himachal Pradesh2818165813 Nagaland21296574 Arunachal Pradesh175810633 Chandigarh116070619 Meghalaya9022645 Sikkim6882971 Mizoram4962660
  Sports   Cricket  30 Apr 2019  IPL 2019: David Warner signs off in style

IPL 2019: David Warner signs off in style

Published : Apr 30, 2019, 1:19 am IST
Updated : Apr 30, 2019, 1:19 am IST

Warner escaped a run out chance while on 27 as fielder Mujeeb Ur Rahman could not gather the ball at midwicket in the fifth over.

david warner
 david warner

Hyderabad: The southern Sun proved too hot for the Kings from Punjab, who were roasted to a 45-run defeat that pushed them into a precarious position in the race for Playoffs here on a manic Monday night.

A towering 212 was too tall a total to surpass and the visitors were restricted to 167 for 8 amid roars of delight at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium. Barring K. L. Rahul’s 79 (56 balls, 4x4, 6x5) and his stands for 60 for the second wicket with Mayank Agarwal (27) and 53 for the sixth with Prabhsimran Singh (16) there was nothing to cheer for KXIP.


Earlier, David Warner went out of the IPL swinging. His energetic 81 that came off only 56 balls and contained seven fours and two sixes laid the foundation for a strong total.

Warner and his new opening partner Wriddhiman Saha got off the blocks in a flash, picking runs at will as the Sunrisers’ 50 came in just four overs. And at the end of power play, they were scorching at 77 without loss, the best score after six overs this IPL — the previous best was also scored by SRH, 72 for no loss against Kolkata Knight Riders at the same venue a week ago.

Warner escaped a run out chance while on 27 as fielder Mujeeb Ur Rahman could not gather the ball at midwicket in the fifth over.


Mujeeb clearly had a forgettable day. The off-spinner also gave away 66 runs in his four overs to be the second worst in maxium runs conceded in IPL history.

He joined Ishant Sharma who went for similar number of runs while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad against Chennai Super Kings back in 2013. Basil Thampi holds the ignominious record though – he was thumped for 70 runs while bowling for SRH in their away match against Royal Challengers Bangalore last year.

Mujeeb was hit for 28 runs in his first two overs, including a six to David Warner and five wides down the leg side before conceding 26 in the 18th over that contained three sixes and a boundary.


Captain Ravichandran Ashwin brought himself into the attack in the sixth over and Warner smacked him out of the ground first ball. Later, the bowler stopped in his tracks before delivery twice during the over, evoking boos from the crowd possibly peeved at his Mankading of Rajasthan Royals’ Jos Buttler early on in the tournament.

However, the introduction of another Ashwin — Murugan — got Punjab their first wicket, Saha snapped up by debutant wicketkeeper Prabhsimran Singh as he tried to pull. Sun 78 for 1 in the seventh over.

Next man Manish Pandey gelled well with Warner and continued the run feast as they scored at a brisk pace. But both fell in the 16th over, to Ashwin. Another double strike by Mohammed Shami to claim captain Kane Williamson and Mohammad Nabi in the 19th over pegged the hosts back a bit.


Earlier, both teams rang in three changes each. Mandeep Singh, Ankit Rajpoot and Hardus Viljoen made way for Prabhsimran Singh, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Arshdeep Singh in the Punjab pack while Sunrisers sidelined Deepak Hooda, Shakib Al Hasan and Siddarth Kaul for Abhishek Sharma, Mohammad Nabi and Sandeep Sharma.

Tags: david warner, ipl 2019