Friday, Mar 01, 2024 | Last Update : 08:28 PM IST

  Sports   Cricket  24 Mar 2020  Dale Steyn left out of CSA's national contracts

Dale Steyn left out of CSA's national contracts

Published : Mar 24, 2020, 2:07 pm IST
Updated : Mar 24, 2020, 2:07 pm IST

Left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks makes the cut; Contract upgrades for Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius and Rassie van der Dussen

South Africa’s Beuran Hendricks during a practice session in Dhaka. AP Photo
 South Africa’s Beuran Hendricks during a practice session in Dhaka. AP Photo

Johannesburg: Veteran pacer Dale Steyn has been excluded from Cricket South Africa's national contracts for the 2020-21 season and left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks was included in the 16-member list.

The 36-year-old Steyn had made a comeback this February after being laid low by injury in the last three years, hoping to be a part of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Australia in October.

The South African board, however, showed faith in the young players, awarding contract upgrades to young fast bowler Anrich Nortje, all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius and batsman Rassie van der Dussen -- who played more matches last season.

Former skipper Faf du Plessis has also been offered a new contract by the board, suggesting he will be an important member of the team which has a busy summer, which includes home Tests against Sri Lanka and Australia.

In the women's category, Nadine de Klerk and Sinalo Jafta have earned contract upgrades during the course of the past season.

Men: Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

Women: Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt.

Tags: cricket south africa, dale steyn
Location: South Africa, Gauteng, Johannesburg