Friday, Sep 22, 2023 | Last Update : 01:28 PM IST

  Sports   Cricket  22 Apr 2018  IPL 2018, RR vs MI: Krishnappa Gowtham inspires in hosts' comeback win

IPL 2018, RR vs MI: Krishnappa Gowtham inspires in hosts' comeback win

Published : Apr 22, 2018, 7:16 pm IST
Updated : Apr 23, 2018, 12:04 am IST

Score after 19.4 overs, RR 168-7, K Gowtham 33*, Jaydev Unadkat 0*; Jasprit Bumrah (2/28), Hardik Pandya (2/25), beat MI by 3 wickets.

(Photo: BCCI)
 (Photo: BCCI)

Jaipur: Krishnappa Gowtham (33) inspired in Rajasthan Royals’ comeback win against Mumbai Indians, as they beat the visitors by three wickets in the Indian Premier League with two balls to spare.

Sanju Samson continued his good form in the tournament, with a well-played knock of 52. However, that was not enough for the hosts as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals.

The big breakthrough for the visitors come when Hardik Pandya removed Ben Stokes for 40. This was followed by the big wicket of Sanju Samson, which dented hopes of a win.

However, despite losing Heinrich Klaasen and Jofra Archer, it was Krishnappa Gowtham (33) who gave the perfect finishing touches to win the match.

For  MI, it was another heartbreak, as they suffered to yet another loss in a match which they were on course to win.

For MI, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya took two wickets, whereas Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan and Mustafizur Rahman took one wicket each.

RR 110-3 from 14.1 overs

WICKET! Ben Stokes was looking in fine touch, but Hardik Pandya struck in the right time as he dismisses the Englishman.

RR 38-2 from 5.4 overs

WICKET! Mitchell McClenaghan this time, as he removes captain Rahane for 14 runs.

RR 14-1 from 2.2 overs

WICKET! Krunal Pandya strikes as he removes Rahul Tripathi.Suryakumar Yadav was the man at mid-on as MI got their first wicket.

MI innings

Suryakumar Yadav (72) and Ishan Kishan (58) led Mumbai Indians to 167-7 in their Indian Premier League match against Rajasthan Royals here on Sunday.

Having lost Evin Lewis early, the duo of Suryakumar and Ishan had put up a 129-run partnership.

But, despite this, the visitors went onto lose wickets, as Jofra Archer, too, got three wickets on his IPL debut.

Apart from Archer, Jaydev Unadkat and Dhawal Kulkarni were among the wicket-takers.

MI 136-4 from 15.4 overs

WICKET! A huge roar in the stadium, as Rohit Sharma has been run-out for a duck. This is a huge wicket.

MI 135-3 from 15.2 overs

WICKET! Jaydev Unadkat joins the party, as he sees off Suryakumar Yadav for 72. 

MI 130-2 from 14.2 overs

WICKET! Kulkarni gets the breakthrough again, this time Ishan Kishan departs for 58 as Jos Buttler takes an easy catch

MI 121-1 from 12.5 overs

FIFTY! Ishan Kishan gets to his second IPL half-century, as MI are on course for a huge total. The partnership between Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav is already 120.

MI 86-1 from 9.3 overs

FIFTY! Suryakumar Yadav scores his third IPL fifty, this one coming in just 29 balls. This has been a splendid innings, and the fans are loving it. 

MI 1/1 from 0.4 overs

WICKET! Dhawal Kulkarni has struck early, as he bundles the bails out to dismiss Evin Lewis. An early blow for the defending champions.

Toss update

Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bat first in their IPL encounter against Rajasthan Royals.

Here is how both the teams lineup for tonight's match:


Having picked up their first win of the season, Mumbai Indians (MI) will look to continue in similar fashion when they face Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the 2018 Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium on Sunday.

The defending champions got off to the worst start, losing three games on a trot before roaring back to victory in style. MI will hope for a similar performance as they look to climb up the table.

Meanwhile, it has been a mixed campaign for the hosts who have looked off-colour so far. Big names such as Ben Stokes, Jaydev Unadkat, Jos Buttler and Ajinkya Rahane are yet to deliver their best and the team will hope to get their act together.

Both captains Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane know each other very well and fans will be expecting an exciting contest.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar, Ben Cutting, Akila Dananjaya, JP Duminy, Ishan Kishan, Siddhesh Lad, Evin Lewis, Sharad Lumba, Mayank Markande, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Mohsin Khan, Mustafizur Rahman, MD Nidheesh, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Anukul Roy, Pradeep Sangwan, Tajinder Singh, Aditya Tare, Saurabh Tiwary, Suryakumar Yadav

Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Ankit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Jofra Archer, Stuart Binny, Aryaman Birla, Jos Buttler, Dushmantha Chameera, Prashant Chopra, Shreyas Gopal, Krishnappa Gowtham, Heinrich Klaasen, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ben Laughlin, Mahipal Lomror, Sudhesan Midhun, Sanju Samson, Jatin Saxena, D'Arcy Short, Ish Sodhi, Ben Stokes, Rahul Tripathi, Jaydev Unadkat.

When is the match?

The match is scheduled to start at 8 PM IST on Sunday (April 22).

Where is the match?

The match will take place at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.

Live telecast and timings:

With Star India now acquiring the media rights from Sony Pictures Network India for the upcoming season, the matches will be telecast on various Star Sports channels.

Live streaming:

The matches can be viewed live on or on the Hotstar app.

Tags: indian premier league (ipl), ipl 2018, rajasthan royals, mumbai indians