Sunday, Feb 25, 2024 | Last Update : 11:46 PM IST

  Sports   Cricket  14 Mar 2018  2018 Nidahas Trophy, Ban vs Ind: India enters final, beats Bangladesh by 17 runs

2018 Nidahas Trophy, Ban vs Ind: India enters final, beats Bangladesh by 17 runs

Published : Mar 14, 2018, 6:13 pm IST
Updated : Mar 14, 2018, 10:25 pm IST

Score, Bangladesh 159-6 from 20 overs ( Mushfiqur Rahim 72*; Washington Sundar 3/22), lose to IND by 17 runs.

(Photo: AP)
 (Photo: AP)

Colombo: India defeated Bangladesh by 17 runs to enter the final of the Nidahas Trophy tri-series tournament here on Wednesday.

Washington Sundar starred with three wickets, whereas Yuzvendra Chahal and Shardul Thakur got one wicket each.

Mushfiqur Rahim’s knock of 72 runs was the standout performance for Mahmudullah’s men, but his efforts went in vain.

Rahim had put up a 65-run partnership with Sabbir Rahman, who later departed for 27.

Earlier, Rohit Sharma (89 runs ) and Suresh Raina (47 runs ) had taken India to 176-3 from 20 overs.

Bangladesh 40-3 from 5.4 overs

WICKET! Washington Sundar is on fire here, as he has just got his third wicket. Once again, he is clean bowled as an ecstatic Sundar celebrates his wicket.

Bangladesh 35-2 from 3.5 overs

WICKET! Washington Sundar does the trick again, this time clean bowls Soumya Sarkar who departs for one run.

Bangladesh 12-1 from 1.5 overs

WICKET! Liton Das has been stumped by Dinesh Karthik as Washington Sundar celebrates his wicket.

India innings

 A dominant India finished their innings at 176-3 from 20 overs in the fifth match of the Nidahas trophy tri-series tournament against Bangladesh here on Wednesday.

Rohit Sharma was the star of the Indian innings as he returned back to form with a well-played knock of 89 runs.

India lost Shikhar Dhawan in the earlier stage of the match, but that did not stop Rohit Dharma and Suresh Raina from building a 102- run partnership.

However, Raina and Rohit were soon dismissed by Rubel Hossain in the final over, as India reached a respectable total.

Rubel Hossain was the lone wicket-taker in the innings as he finished his spell read 2-27 after the innings.

Bangladesh will have a huge task in hand when they come on to bat and would take some inspiration from their chase of 214 against Sri Lanka recently in the same tournament.

India 172-2 from 19.1 overs

WICKET! Suresh Raina falls short of his fifth T20I fifty, as he is dismissed for 47 by Rubel Hossain, who gets his second wicket.

India 91-1 from 12.4 overs

FIFTY! Rohit Sharma has returned back to form with a well-played half-century. This is his 13th T20I fifty.

India 70-1 from 9.5 overs

WICKET! Shikhar Dhawan has been clean bowled by Rubel Hossain as he gives Bangladesh the breakthrough.

India 2-0 from 1 over

A good start by the Men in Green as bowler Abu Hider Rony concedes just two runs in the first over. 

Toss update

Bangladesh won the toss against India on Wednesday and captain Mahmudullah decided to put India to bat.

India have made one change by bringing in Mohammed Siraj in place of Jaydev Unadkat.

Meanwhile, for Bangladesh , Abu Hider Rony has come in place of Taskin Ahmed.

Here is how both the teams will lineup tonight:


Rohit Sharma-led India are one step closer from confirming a spot in the final of the 2018 Nidahas Trophy as they face Bangladesh in their final league match on Wednesday.

Despite beating Sri Lanka by six wickets on Monday, captain Rohit Sharma’s form in the tournament continues to be a worry.

In the last match, it was a 68-run stand between Dinesh Karthik and Manish Pandey which took the visitors home.

Mahmudullah-led Bangladesh, meanwhile, will enter this match with full of confidence, after coming from behind to beat the hosts by five wickets in a match that witnessed 429 runs and 11 wickets.

Shardul Thakur will have a key role to play in India’s upcoming encounter after having picked up four wickets in their previous match. He finished with a spell of 4-27 from four overs in that match.

Despite having been included in the squad, Mohammed Siraj and Deepak Hooda are among the players who are yet to play a match in the three-nation tournament. It will be interesting to see if either of them make it to the playing eleven, given that this will be a do-or-die clash for both the teams.

In the Bangladesh camp, meanwhile, Mushfiqur Rahim will be hoping to put up another positive effort against the pace attack of Shardul Thakur and Vijay Shankar, whereas the bowling attack will be led by Mustafizur Rahman, who picked up three wickets against Sri Lanka in their previous match.

Where to watch the matches live?

Live telecast: The matches can be seen live on DSport (English commentary) and DD National (Hindi commentary).

Live streaming: It can also be streamed live on the JioTV app.

What time is the match?

The match is scheduled to begin at 1900 hrs IST.


India: Rohit Sharma(captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik(wicketkeeper), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jaydev Unadkat, Rishabh Pant, Vijay Shankar, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Hooda.

Bangladesh: Mahmudullah (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque, Nazmul Islam, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan, Liton Das. 

Tags: nidahas trophy, live cricket score, rohit sharma