Saturday, Jul 11, 2020 | Last Update : 02:49 PM IST

109th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra2384611326259893 Tamil Nadu130261846941829 Delhi109140846943300 Gujarat40155281832023 Uttar Pradesh3370021787845 Karnataka3341811878471 Telangana3222410123339 West Bengal2710917348880 Andhra Pradesh2542213914292 Rajasthan2317417620497 Haryana1993414904290 Madhya Pradesh1665712481638 Assam15537984935 Bihar1433010251111 Odisha11956797273 Jammu and Kashmir92615567149 Punjab71404945183 Kerala6535370828 Chhatisgarh3526283514 Uttarakhand3305267246 Jharkhand3192217022 Goa203912078 Tripura177313241 Manipur14357930 Puducherry120061916 Himachal Pradesh110182510 Nagaland6733030 Chandigarh5234037 Arunachal Pradesh2871092 Mizoram2031430 Sikkim134710 Meghalaya113451
  Sports   Cricket  09 Mar 2020  Poonam Yadav makes it to ICC women's T20 WC XI; Shafali Verma named 12th player

Poonam Yadav makes it to ICC women's T20 WC XI; Shafali Verma named 12th player

Published : Mar 9, 2020, 1:46 pm IST
Updated : Mar 9, 2020, 1:46 pm IST

Nine of the eleven are from Australia (5) and England; one makes it from South Africa

Poonam Yadav (centre) being congratulated by a teammate after taking a wicket against Sri Lanka. AP Photo
 Poonam Yadav (centre) being congratulated by a teammate after taking a wicket against Sri Lanka. AP Photo

Dubai: Leg-spinner Poonam Yadav was the lone Indian to make the ICC Women's T20 playing XI of the World Cup, which featured teenage sensation Shafali Verma as the 12th player and was dominated by champions Australia.

Five players from Australia's victorious team made the side. Defending champions Australia claimed their fifth title following an 85-run triumph over first-time finalists India on Sunday in Melbourne.

Alyssa Healy, Beth Mooney, Meg Lanning, Jess Jonassen and Megan Schutt were included along with four England players.

The side was pulled together by a selection panel featuring commentators and former international players Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra and Lisa Sthalekar, journalist Raf Nicholson and ICC representative Holly Colvin, the ICC said in a statement.

Poonam Yadav had Australia in knots in a dramatic opening game of the tournament. India's leading T20I wicket-taker took four for 19 in the opener and didn't look back, bagging three against Bangladesh before rounding off with wickets in each match.

Shafali Verma, on the other hand, broke record after record at the top of India's order. The 16-year-old scored 163 runs coming at a jaw-dropping strike rate of 158.25.

The middle-order batters were in inspired form throughout, Heather Knight becoming the first England cricketer to register centuries in all three formats with her ton against the debutants.

Sciver scored half-centuries in three of England's four completed matches to end her tournament with 202 runs and two wickets.

South Africa's Laura Wolvaardt only batted in two innings but certainly made her mark on the action. The 20-year-old struck 53 not out to take South Africa beyond Pakistan, with a glorious array of straight and cover drives lighting up the Sydney Showground.

The team: Alyssa Healy (Aus), Beth Mooney (Aus), Nat Sciver (Eng), Heather Knight (Eng), Meg Lanning (Aus), Laura Wolvaardt (SA), Jess Jonassen (Aus), Sophie Ecclestone (Eng), Anya Shrubsole (Eng), Megan Schutt (Aus), Poonam Yadav (Ind). 12th: Shafali Verma (Ind).

Tags: 2020 icc twenty20 world cup, poonam yadav, meg lanning
Location: United Arab Emirates, Dubai, Dubai