Tuesday, Sep 17, 2019 | Last Update : 07:42 AM IST

MS Dhoni becomes first Asian wicketkeeper to complete 800 dismissals across formats

Published : Sep 29, 2018, 12:48 pm IST
Updated : Sep 29, 2018, 12:48 pm IST

Dhoni was involved in two successful stumpings, as Kuldeep Yadav dismissed Liton Das and Mashrafe Mortaza.

(Photo: AFP)
 (Photo: AFP)

Dubai: Former India captain MS Dhoni on Friday became the first Asian wicketkeeper to complete 800 dismissals across all the three international formats and the third overall to do the same.

Dhoni once again was quick behind the wickets as he stumped Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza as Kuldeep Yadav got the wicket. Mortaza was dismissed for seven runs.

Only South Africa’s Mark Boucher (998 dismissals) and Australia’s Adam Gilchrist (905) is ahead of the 37-year-old in the all-time list.

Mortaza’s wicket was Dhoni’s second stumping already in the match. Earlier, centurion Liton Das (121 runs) was dismissed in similar fashion when Dhoni stumped him, again off Kuldeep’s bowling.

Dhoni, who retired from Tests in 2014, captained India in their thrilling tie against Afghanistan in their Super Four encounter. That was Dhoni’s 200th match as captain in ODIs, becoming the third cricketer to lead his national team in 200 or more ODIs.

India beat Bangladesh by three wickets in a last-ball thriller as Kedar Jadhav battled an injury to remain unbeaten at 23 runs.  

Tags: ms dhoni, team india, asia cup 2018