Wednesday, Sep 18, 2019 | Last Update : 12:52 AM IST

Nitin Raut returns without submitting papers for Ramtek

Published : Mar 26, 2019, 3:26 am IST
Updated : Mar 26, 2019, 3:26 am IST

Mr Chavan’s mobile was switched off and no contact could be established with him and due to lack of communication.

Nitin Raut
 Nitin Raut

Nagpur: The Nagpur Collectorate witnessed high drama even as former Maharashtra minister Nitin Raut reached to file papers for the Ramtek Lok Sabha constituency after a message from party higher-ups and waited for proper communication from Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president Ashok Chavan for sending an AB form and letter only to be disappointed in the process.

Mr Chavan’s mobile was switched off and no contact could be established with him and due to lack of communication, a dejected Mr Raut left the Returning Office with his close aide, lone Congress MLA Sunil Kedar from Saoner. Finally, official sources confirmed that Mr Raut did not file any papers. Efforts to communicate with both Mr Raut and Mr Kedar failed.

Mr Raut and other Congress leaders were unhappy over Mr Gajbhiye’s nomination and argued that Mr Gajbhiye had fought from the graduate constituency on a BSP ticket and also from the north Nagpur Assembly constituency and lost from both. He had recently joined the Congress and was given a ticket which precipitated resentment among the Congress cadre.

Meanwhile, BJP stalwart and sitting MP from Nagpur, Nitin Gadkari, who is the Union minister for transport, shipping and Ganga rejuvenation; his ministerial colleague Hansraj Ahir, MoS for home; Shiv Sena sitting MP Krupal Tumane; Congress nominee from Nagpur and former MP Nana Patole; and former IAS officer Kishore Gajbhiye filed papers from the reserved Ramtek constituency. Manikrao Thakre of the Congress (Yavatmal) and Navneet Rana (Amravati) also filed papers in their respective constituencies.

Accompanied by a huge number of party workers and led by chief minister Devendra Fadanvis, Dr Ramesh Sawant (Sena); former MP Datta Meghe; former minister Sulekha Kumbhare; all city legislators - Sudhakar Kohle, Sudhakar Deshmukh and mayor Nanda Jichkar and others were present on the occasion.

Tags: nitin raut, ramtek, chief minister devendra fadnavis