Tuesday, Aug 04, 2020 | Last Update : 11:52 AM IST

133rd Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra45019628703015842 Tamil Nadu2632222022834241 Andhra Pradesh166586886781537 Karnataka139571625002594 Delhi1384821242544021 Uttar Pradesh97362553931778 West Bengal78232548181731 Telangana6766048609551 Gujarat64684476632504 Bihar5956738508336 Rajasthan4555532051719 Assam4527633429109 Haryana3717330470440 Odisha3629723074248 Madhya Pradesh3428524099900 Kerala268731527885 Jammu and Kashmir2200614032407 Punjab1852711882442 Jharkhand135004794125 Chhatisgarh9820725661 Uttarakhand7800453890 Goa6816487656 Tripura5389360527 Puducherry3982241156 Manipur292017667 Himachal Pradesh2818165813 Nagaland21296574 Arunachal Pradesh175810633 Chandigarh116070619 Meghalaya9022645 Sikkim6882971 Mizoram4962660
  Metros   Mumbai  25 Oct 2019  Congress regains Vidarbha, claims 17 seats, NCP six

Congress regains Vidarbha, claims 17 seats, NCP six

Published : Oct 25, 2019, 2:37 am IST
Updated : Oct 25, 2019, 2:37 am IST

Devendra Fadnavis retained his seat by a margin of around 49,500 votes.

Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis
 Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis

Nagpur: In a reversal of fortunes, Congress, after a severe drubbing in the 2014 polls, regained its lost ground and won 17 seats in the drought-hit Vidarbha region. Its ally, the Nationalist Congress Party, won six out of the 62 seats in the region.

In 2014, riding on the ‘Modi wave’, the BJP had emerged as a dominant force in Vidarbha by winning 44 of the 62 seats —  the highest for the party from across different regions of Maharashtra. But the setback this time has seen the party reduced to 28 seats. The Shiv Sena maintained its tally of four this time, too.   


Reacting to the impressive show of the Congress in Vidarbha, senior Congress leader Nitin Raut said, “The people of Vidarbha have reposed their faith in Congress. The BJP had to bite dust and their toll claim of crossing 220 proved to be a joke. The Congress-NCP has a bright future.”

Mr Raut, the former Nagpur guardian minister, dethroned sitting Bharatiya Janata Party  (BJP) MLA Dr Milind Mane in Nagpur North constituency.  

In Katol, former NCP minister Anil Deshmukh regained his seat defeating BJP’s Charan Singh Thakur, a former Zilla Parishad functionary.  

His nephew, Ashish, however, lost to chief minister Devendra Fadnavis in the Nagpur South-West constituency.


Mr Fadnavis retained his seat by a margin of around 49,500 votes.  

In Kamptee, the former constituency of energy minister Chandrashek-har Bawankule, the party suffered a humiliating de-feat as former Zilla Parishad president and Congress candidate Suresh Bhoyar routed BJP novice Tekchand Savarkar.

Sakoli in Bhandara district saw neck-and-neck fight, where BJP fielded sitting MLC Parinay Fuke against high-profile Congress leader Nana Patole. Mr Patole, after a bitter contest, won by a margin of 12,000 votes.

In Ramtek, former Shiv Sena MLA-turned-rebel Advocate Ashish Jaiswal defeated sitting BJP MLA Mallikarjun Reddy.

Tags: devendra fadnavis