Saturday, Jul 11, 2020 | Last Update : 02:46 PM IST

109th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra2384611326259893 Tamil Nadu130261846941829 Delhi109140846943300 Gujarat40155281832023 Uttar Pradesh3370021787845 Karnataka3341811878471 Telangana3222410123339 West Bengal2710917348880 Andhra Pradesh2542213914292 Rajasthan2317417620497 Haryana1993414904290 Madhya Pradesh1665712481638 Assam15537984935 Bihar1433010251111 Odisha11956797273 Jammu and Kashmir92615567149 Punjab71404945183 Kerala6535370828 Chhatisgarh3526283514 Uttarakhand3305267246 Jharkhand3192217022 Goa203912078 Tripura177313241 Manipur14357930 Puducherry120061916 Himachal Pradesh110182510 Nagaland6733030 Chandigarh5234037 Arunachal Pradesh2871092 Mizoram2031430 Sikkim134710 Meghalaya113451
  Metros   Mumbai  25 Oct 2019  AIMIM fails to recreate 2014 poll magic this election

AIMIM fails to recreate 2014 poll magic this election

Published : Oct 25, 2019, 2:56 am IST
Updated : Oct 25, 2019, 2:56 am IST

In the Byculla constituency, Pathan managed to get 31,157 votes but the Jadhav won this seat by a margin of 51,180 votes.

Waris Pathan
 Waris Pathan

Mumbai: The All India Majlis-Ittehadul-Muslimeen (AIMIM) won two seats in the Assembly elections, but failed to cause as much damage to the Congress-NCP alliance as it did in the Lok Sabha elections held in May this year.

That a majority of Muslim voters tried to avoid division of votes and voted for parties which had the capability of forming the government or sitting in the Opposition was the reason cited for the party’s failure to perform this election.

The manner in which Muslims voted this time resulted in the AIMIM’s sitting MLA from Byculla — a Muslim dominated constituency — Waris Pathan losing his seat to Shiv Sena’s Yamini Yashwant Jadhav.

In the Byculla constituency, Mr Pathan managed to get 31,157 votes but the Ms Jadhav won this seat by a margin of 51,180 votes.

This year, the Congress once again fielded former MLA Madhu Chavan but he could get only 24,139 votes. This is the same constituency where actor Ejaz Khan contested as an independent and got 2,173 votes, and gangster-turned-politician Arun Gawli’s daughter Geeta managed to get 10,484 votes.

In the Mumbadevi constituency, where Congress’s Amin Patel won the election, the AIMIM had fielded veteran politician Bashir Musa Patel, but he was able to garner only 6,372 votes.

It may be recalled that the AIMIM could not contest in Mumbra constituency because its candidate withdrew his nomination at the last moment without informing higher-ups and the party did not have time to field another candidate.

However, the AIMIM supported the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate in Mumbra — another Muslim dominated constituency. The AAP candidate lost to NCP’s sitting MLA Jitendra Awhad.

Tags: aimim, waris pathan