Wednesday, Jul 08, 2020 | Last Update : 09:47 AM IST

106th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra2171211185589250 Tamil Nadu118594711161636 Delhi102831742173165 Gujarat37636267441978 Uttar Pradesh2996819627313 Telangana2761216287313 Karnataka2681511100417 West Bengal2383715790804 Rajasthan2140416575472 Andhra Pradesh211979745252 Haryana1799913645279 Madhya Pradesh1562711768622 Bihar12525933898 Assam12523833016 Odisha10097670354 Jammu and Kashmir89315399143 Punjab67494554175 Kerala5895345228 Chhatisgarh3415272814 Uttarakhand3230262143 Jharkhand3018210422 Goa190311568 Tripura171612481 Manipur14307710 Himachal Pradesh107876410 Puducherry104351714 Nagaland6443030 Chandigarh4924017 Arunachal Pradesh270922 Mizoram1971390 Sikkim125650 Meghalaya94432
  Metros   Mumbai  24 May 2019  AIMIM’s Jaleel wins Aurangabad seat, beats Khaire

AIMIM’s Jaleel wins Aurangabad seat, beats Khaire

Published : May 24, 2019, 3:58 am IST
Updated : May 24, 2019, 3:58 am IST

Mr Jadhav polled more than 2.75 lakh votes and was even leading in Aurangabad LS seat during initial rounds of counting.

AIMIM candidate, Imtiaz Jaleel
 AIMIM candidate, Imtiaz Jaleel

The All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslameen (AIMIM) candidate, Imtiaz Jaleel has won from the Aurangabad seat with a margin of 4,492 votes, which was also the lowest margin of victory in Maharashtra, becoming the first Lok Sabha MP of the party from the state. He defeated Shiv Sena’s Chandrakant Khaire.

Mr Khaire, during campaigning, had alleged that BJP state president Rao Saheb Danve had helped his son-in-law Harshwardhan Jadhav who was contesting against him. Mr Jadhav polled more than 2.75 lakh votes and was even leading in Aurangabad LS seat during initial rounds of counting.

Mr Khaire also complained about Mr Danve to Amit Shah and Devendra Fadnavis. Mr Jadhav had refuted Mr Khaire’s allegations and said that the fear of losing elections was forcing him to make such comments.

Another Shiv Sena heavyweight Anandrao Adsul suffered shock defeat in Amravati Lok Sabha constituency where independent candidate Navneet Kaur Rana won by a margin of 36,951 votes.

Ms Rana was backed by the Nationalist Congress Party. She secured more than five lakh votes while Mr Adsul got 4.70 lakh votes.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Mr Adsul had won from Amravati by defeating the NCP candidate by a margin of 1,37,932 votes.

However, Raju Shetti, founder of Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana, who was the only Lok Sabha MP from Maharashtra who did not any of the mainstream parties, lost from Hatkanagle Lok Sabha seat. He lost to Shiv Sena’s Dhairyasheel Mane by a margin of over 97,000 votes, in a bitterly fought contest after he exited National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and joined Congress, Nationalist Congress Party combine.

Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analysis et al. Happy reading.

Tags: imtiaz jaleel, chandrakant khaire, 17thloksabhaelectionresults