Saturday, Sep 23, 2023 | Last Update : 11:32 PM IST

  Metros   Mumbai  15 Mar 2019  NCP releases first list of 12 candidates

NCP releases first list of 12 candidates

Published : Mar 15, 2019, 4:02 am IST
Updated : Mar 15, 2019, 4:02 am IST

Out of 12 candidates, 11 have been fielded from Maharashtra and 1 from Lakshwadeep.

NCP President Sharad Pawar (Photo: ANI)
 NCP President Sharad Pawar (Photo: ANI)

Mumbai: The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has released its first list of 12 candidates on Thursday. Sitting MPs Supriya Sule, Udayanraje Bhosale, and Dhananjay Mahadik feature on the first list.

Out of the 12 candidates, 11 have been fielded from Maharashtra and one from Lakshwadeep. However, the party is yet to decide on the Madha and Maval seats. The party has fielded a candidate from the Kalyan seat. Releasing the first list, NCP state president Jayant Patil said that there were no talks with the MNS about an alliance, hence there was no question of giving a ticket to the MNS.

According to the list, Supriya Sule will contest from Baramati, while the party's ex-state unit chief Sunil Tatkare will contest from the Raigad constituency. Udayanraje Bhosale has been fielded from Satara, Dhananjay Mahadik from Kolhapur, Rajendra Shingane from Buldhana, Gulabrao Deokar from Jalgaon, Rajesh Vitekar from Parbhani, Sanjay Patil from Mumbai north-east, Anand Paranjpe from Thane, and Babaji Balaram Patil from Kalyan.

The NCP has also given a ticket to Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana chief Raju Shetti for the Hatkanangale constituency. Mohd P.P. Faizal has been given a ticket for Lakshwadeep.

On the question of Congress leader Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil not participating in the election campaign as Mr Pawar insulted his father, Jayant Patil said that there was no question of insulting Balasaheb Vikhe-Patil.

During the Lok Sabha elections of 1991, Mr Balasaheb Vikhe-Patil had stood as an independent candidate. At that time, Rajiv Gandhi had put the responsibility of ensuring Congress candidate Yashwantrao Gadakh’s win, which Mr Pawar did. “Now, Mr Pawar only stated what happened almost 28 years back. Mr Pawar had no intention of insulting anyone,” said the NCP state president.

Mr Patil said that they would fight this seat with full strength and ensure the victory of the party candidate over this.

When asked whether these issues would hamper the relationship between the Congress and NCP, he said that Ahmednagar belonged to his party. It was not possible for the NCP to leave this seat.

Tags: nationalist congress party (ncp), radhakrishna vikhe-patil, lok sabha elections