Friday, May 31, 2024 | Last Update : 03:39 AM IST

  Metros   Kolkata  19 Apr 2018  BJP shuns internal rift, finalises MCD mayors

BJP shuns internal rift, finalises MCD mayors

Published : Apr 19, 2018, 3:32 am IST
Updated : Apr 19, 2018, 3:33 am IST

The mayoral polls to be held next week will be a mere formality in view of dominance of the BJP in the three municipal corporations.

Manoj Tiwari
 Manoj Tiwari

New Delhi: Shunning differences, the Delhi BJP on Wednesday finalised candidates for the post of mayor, deputy mayor and other office-bearers for the three municipal corporations in the national capital.

For mayoral posts, the party has finalised Narendra Chawla for South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC), Adesh Kumar Gupta for North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) and Bipin Bihari Singh for East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC). The list of candidates were released by Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari.

The mayoral polls to be held next week will be a mere formality in view of dominance of the BJP in the three municipal corporations. The mayoral five-year tenure sees five single-year terms on a rotation basis, with the first year being reserved for women, the second open category, third for reserved category and the remaining two also being in open category. The polls in the SDMC would be held on April 26, while in the NDMC and the EDMC, it would be held on April 27.

For the SDMC, Satya Pal Malik would be deputy mayor candidate, while standing committee chairperson would be Shikha Rai and deputy chairperson Poonam Bhati. Outgoing mayor Kamaljeet Sehrawat will be the Leader of the House.

The deliberative wing of the NDMC will comprise deputy mayor Rajesh Lawadia, standing committee chairperson Veena Virmani, deputy chairperson Nisha Mann, member Manish Chaudhary and Leader of House Tilak Raj Kataria.

In EDMC, Kiran Vaidh would be the deputy mayor, standing committee chairman would be Satya Pal Singh, deputy chairman Romesh Chan-dra Gupta, member San-dip Kapoor and Leader of House Nirmal Jain.

After releasing the list, Mr Tiwari said that the party hopes that they shall discharge their responsibility by following the principle of “Sabka Sath Sabka Vikas”.

“We have tried to form a team which will take the campaign of ‘MCD Aapke Dwar’ to the people and solve the problems connected with the corporations in a better way. By including every section of society in selection of the candidates, effort has been made to form an ideal team and I hope that all the selected councillors will after taking the charge, present the ideal of social, political and geographical development of Delhi and provide a transparent, honest and accessible corporation services,” Mr Tiwari added.

Tags: sdmc, ndmc, east delhi municipal corporation