Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 | Last Update : 07:58 PM IST

Rahul Gandhi names 9 AICC secretaries

Published : Aug 24, 2018, 1:05 am IST
Updated : Aug 24, 2018, 1:05 am IST

Some of the old-timers and veterans have been shown the door in the new set-up under him.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi
 Congress president Rahul Gandhi

New Delhi: Congress president Rahul Gandhi on Thursday named nine more secretaries, including Gujarat OBC leader and MLA Alpesh Thakore, in the All India Congress Committee (AICC) for different states. Besides appointing MLA Aditi Singh, MLA of Rae Bareilly Sadar (UP) constituency, as general secretary of All India Mahila Congress. Ms Singh is the daughter of former MLA of Rae Bareilly Akhilesh Singh she recently joined the party just before the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections in early 2017.

Mr Thakore was also brought into the Congress just before the Gujarat Assembly elections last year to augment the party before the OBC community. Mr Thakore has been appointed secretary in-charge of Bihar. Interestingly, Shaktisinh Gohil, who also hails from Gujarat, is the general secretary in-charge of Bihar for the AICC.

Among the new secretaries appointed are Shakeel Ahmed Khan, an MLA from Bihar, as AICC secretary for Jammu and Kashmir; Rajesh Dhamani for Uttarakhand; and B.P. Singh, Mohd Jawaid and Sarat Raut for West Bengal. Mr Gandhi has initiated a number of changes in the AICC ever since he took over as party chief late last year by bringing in young blood to infuse new energy into the party. Some of the old-timers and veterans have been shown the door in the new set-up under him. About two days ago, Mr Gandhi had appointed senior leader Ahmed Patel as the treasurer of the party and Anand Sharma as the chief of its foreign cell.

Tags: rahul gandhi, all india congress committee