Wednesday, Aug 12, 2020 | Last Update : 06:29 PM IST

140th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra53560136843518306 Tamil Nadu3086492506805159 Andhra Pradesh2445491547492203 Karnataka1886111055993398 Delhi1461341316574131 Uttar Pradesh126722767212120 West Bengal98459671202059 Bihar8274154139450 Telangana8075157586637 Gujarat71064542382652 Assam5883842326145 Rajasthan5249738235789 Odisha4592731785321 Haryana4163534781483 Madhya Pradesh3902529020996 Kerala3433121832109 Jammu and Kashmir2489717003472 Punjab2390315319586 Jharkhand185168998177 Chhatisgarh12148880996 Uttarakhand96326134125 Goa871259575 Tripura6161417641 Puducherry5382320187 Manipur3752204411 Himachal Pradesh3371218114 Nagaland30119738 Arunachal Pradesh223115923 Chandigarh1595100425 Meghalaya11154986 Sikkim9105101 Mizoram6203230
  India   Politics  24 May 2018  Trust vote, election of Speaker Friday

Trust vote, election of Speaker Friday

Published : May 24, 2018, 2:07 am IST
Updated : May 24, 2018, 2:07 am IST

Official sources said the new Speaker would be elected on the same day ahead of the trust vote.

H D kumaraswamy (Photo: File/PTI)
 H D kumaraswamy (Photo: File/PTI)

Bengaluru: Karnataka chief minister H.D. Kumaraswamy will face the floor test in the Legislative Assembly on Friday, two days after being sworn in to office.

Official sources said the new Speaker would be elected on the same day ahead of the trust vote. As announced by top Congress leaders, senior legislator and former minister K.R. Ramesh Kumar will be elected the Speaker by the coalition while the deputy speaker will be chosen from among JD(S) legislators on the same day.


The 15th Karnataka Assembly has a strength of 221 MLAs, with the ruling coalition in a comfortable majority in the House with 115 legislators and having the support of two Independe-nt MLAs. The BJP has 104 MLAs. Three seats are still lying vacant. Elections to the Jay-anagar and R.R. Nagar Assembly constituencies are yet to be held while Mr Kumaraswa-my has quit from the Ramanagara seat while retaining the Channapatna seat.

Tags: h d kumaraswamy, k.r. ramesh kumar