Sunday, May 31, 2020 | Last Update : 04:26 AM IST

68th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra65168280812197 Tamil Nadu2024611313157 Delhi173877846398 Gujarat1635692321007 Rajasthan83654855184 Madhya Pradesh78914444343 Uttar Pradesh77014651213 West Bengal48131775302 Andhra Pradesh3461228960 Bihar3359120915 Karnataka292299749 Telangana2499141277 Jammu and Kashmir234190828 Punjab2197194942 Odisha17239779 Haryana172194019 Kerala120957510 Assam9361044 Uttarakhand493794 Jharkhand4621914 Chhatisgarh4471021 Chandigarh2891994 Tripura2711720 Himachal Pradesh223634 Goa70420 Manipur6060 Puducherry57230 Nagaland3600 Meghalaya27121 Arunachal Pradesh310 Mizoram110 Sikkim100

West Bengal bypolls: BJP ahead in four seats, TMC in three

Published : May 23, 2019, 4:04 pm IST
Updated : May 23, 2019, 4:07 pm IST

8 assembly seast were up for bypolls where byelections were held following one death and seven resignations.

This happens in consonance with the surge of the BJP in the Lok Sabha polls.  (Photo: ANI)
 This happens in consonance with the surge of the BJP in the Lok Sabha polls. (Photo: ANI)

Kolkata: In consonance with its surge in Lok Sabha polls in West Bengal, the BJP is also striding ahead in four of the eight Assembly seats, where byelections were held following one death and seven resignations, according to the Election Commission sources.

The All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) is leading in three seats, while the Congress is ahead in one. In Bhatpara, where polls were disrupted due to widespread violence on May 19, Pawan Kumar Singh of the BJP is leading by 35,281 votes against AITC candidate Madan Mitra, a former minister in the state.

Singh is the son of BJP's Barrackpore Lok Sabha constituency candidate Arjun Singh, who vacated the Bhatpara seat before filing nomination for the parliamentary election. Miffed at being denied a ticket by party supremo Mamata Banerjee, the Bhatpara MLA left the TMC and switched to the BJP after the announcement of the general election. In Uluberia, AITC candidate Idris Ali is ahead of BJP's Pratyush Mandal by 9,973 votes.

Ali, an AITC MP from Basirhat Lok Sabha constituency, was denied a ticket from his sitting seat by Banerjee. He was instead fielded from Uluberia Assembly seat by the TMC supremo. In Darjeeling, Neeraj Tamang Zimba of the BJP is leading by 15,800 votes against Gorkha Territorial Administration (GTA) chairman Binoy Tamang, who is fighting as an Independent candidate with AITC support.

Joyel Murmu of the BJP is leading by 9,766 votes against Amal Kisku of AITC in Habibpur. In Islampur, AITC candidate Abdul Karim Chowdhury is leading against S Mandal of the BJP by 20,926 votes.

Shafiul Alam Khan of the Congress is leading against Goutam Roy of the AITC by 8,377 votes in Kandi. In Krishnaganj Assembly seat, BJP's Ashish Kumar Biswas is leading by 13,527 against Prathama Ranjan Bose of the Congress, while in Nowda, Sahina Mamtaz Begum (Khan) of the AITC is leading by 20,684 against Sunil Kumar Mondal of the Congress.  

Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analysis et al. Happy reading.

Tags: 17thloksabhaelectionresults, west bengal, mamata banerjee, tmc, bjp
Location: India, West Bengal, Calcutta [Kolkata]