Wednesday, Oct 21, 2020 | Last Update : 12:56 PM IST

195th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra1443409114960338084 Andhra Pradesh7192566588755981 Karnataka6406615157829286 Tamil Nadu6088555529389653 Uttar Pradesh4031013468595864 Delhi2827522506135401 West Bengal2603242287555017 Odisha222734190080912 Kerala204242131048772 Telangana1992761701091163 Bihar178882164537888 Assam169985139977655 Gujarat1332191132403417 Rajasthan1288591077181441 Haryana1237821059901307 Madhya Pradesh117588932382207 Punjab107096840253134 Chhatisgarh9856566860777 Jharkhand7770964515661 Jammu and Kashmir69832495571105 Uttarakhand4533233642555 Goa3107125071386 Puducherry2548919781494 Tripura2412717464262 Himachal Pradesh136799526152 Chandigarh112128677145 Manipur9791760263 Arunachal Pradesh8649623014 Nagaland5768469311 Meghalaya5158334343 Sikkim2707199431 Mizoram178612880
  India   Politics  21 Mar 2017  BJP's N Biren Singh wins Manipur test with voice vote

BJP's N Biren Singh wins Manipur test with voice vote

Published : Mar 21, 2017, 1:07 am IST
Updated : Mar 21, 2017, 6:41 am IST

The Congress, which won 28 seats in the Assembly polls, is left with the support of 27 MLAs.

Manipur CM Nongthombam Biren Singh (Photo: PTI)
 Manipur CM Nongthombam Biren Singh (Photo: PTI)

Guwahati: Nongthombam Biren Singh on Monday won the floor test in the 60-member Manipur Assembly with a voice vote, four days after he was sworn in as the state’s first BJP chief minister.

Earlier in the day, Yumnam Khemchand Singh of the BJP was elected as the new Speaker of the House. He was also elected with a voice vote against Congress candidate Govindas Khonthoujam.


After this, the CM moved a confidence motion, which saw no division of votes.

A Congress MLA’s demand for a secret ballot was rejected by the Speaker.

After winning the confidence vote, Mr Singh said, “The Opposition and the ruling combination should work together in the interest of the people of Manipur.”

The BJP, which has 21 members, also has the support of four MLAs each from the NPF and the NPP. One Congress MLA, Thounaojam Shyamkumar Singh, along with TMC’s T. Robindro Singh and LJP’s Shyam Karan have also extended support to the BJP-led combination.

The Congress, which won 28 seats in the Assembly polls, is left with the support of 27 MLAs.


The TMC MLA said that he was extending support to the BJP after consulting the party’s central leadership. “I have not violated the party’s order, nor have I done anything against the interest of the party,” he told reporters after the confidence vote.

Tags: n biren singh, manipur assembly, bjp
Location: India, Assam, Guwahati (Gauhati)