Monday, Sep 21, 2020 | Last Update : 11:53 PM IST

180th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra118801585793332216 Andhra Pradesh6177765307115302 Tamil Nadu5364774812738751 Karnataka5113454048417922 Uttar Pradesh3362942632884771 Delhi2347011981034877 West Bengal2155801870614183 Telangana1713061397001033 Odisha167161133466722 Bihar164224149722855 Assam150349121610528 Kerala12221687341490 Gujarat119088999083271 Rajasthan109088906851293 Haryana103773816901069 Madhya Pradesh97906743981877 Punjab90032658182646 Chhatisgarh7777541111628 Jharkhand6710052807590 Jammu and Kashmir5971138521951 Uttarakhand3713924810460 Goa2678320844327 Puducherry2142816253431 Tripura2069612956222 Himachal Pradesh11190691997 Chandigarh92566062106 Manipur8430653951 Arunachal Pradesh6851496713 Nagaland5306407910 Meghalaya4356234232 Sikkim2119178923 Mizoram15069490
  India   Politics  08 Jan 2020  Kharge, Gowda to be joint RS candidates?

Kharge, Gowda to be joint RS candidates?

Published : Jan 8, 2020, 1:43 am IST
Updated : Jan 8, 2020, 1:43 am IST

The minimum votes required to win a RS seat in Karnataka is 45.

Mallikarjun Kharge
 Mallikarjun Kharge

Bengaluru: The Congress and JD (S), which had fallen out just seven months back leading to the collapse of the coalition government in Karnataka, seem to be coming close again with the unity likely to be firmed up during the Rajya Sabha elections due in May this year to send political stalwarts Mallikarjun Kharge (Congress) and former prime minister and JD(S) supremo, H.D. Deve Gowda to the Upper House.

Four sitting Rajya Sabha members, Rajeev Gowda, B.K. Hariprasad (both Congress), Kupendra Reddy (JD-S) and Prabhakar Kore (BJP) are due to retire by then on completion of their six-year term.


The minimum votes required to win a RS seat in Karnataka is 45. The Congress party with 68 seats can comfortably elect one candidate but the JD (S) with just 34, cannot elect a candidate on its own. Sources in the Congress said that a plan is being worked out by the two parties ahead of the RS polls to make sure both Mr Kharge   and Mr Gowda, who lost the Parliament elections last year,  go to the RS.

Tags: mallikarjun kharge, deve gowda