Thursday, Jun 13, 2024 | Last Update : 05:19 PM IST

  India   All India  26 May 2019  Don’t discriminate, PM Modi urges new MPs

Don’t discriminate, PM Modi urges new MPs

Published : May 26, 2019, 5:21 am IST
Updated : May 26, 2019, 5:21 am IST

Modi said the 2019 mandate was a “positive vote” for a “sakaratmak soch (positive thought)” and in favour of “pro-incumbency”.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi (Photo: PTI)
 Prime Minister Narendra Modi (Photo: PTI)

New Delhi: Hailing the 2019 Lok Sabha poll verdict as the ushering in of a “new era” by the people of the country, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday upgraded the BJP’s 2014 poll slogan of ‘Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas’ to ‘Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas Sabka Vishwas’ as he recalled the First War of Independence of 1857, in which, he said, everyone had participated irrespective of caste, creed or religion.

Mr Modi, in his address to the newly elected NDA MPs, said like the poor, minorities were duped for vote bank politics but to take the country to new heights, there should be no discrimination.

Backed by a strong team of 353 MPs, including 303 of the BJP alone, Mr Modi was unanimously elected the BJP’s parliamentary party chief and then the NDA leader, in a formal event at Parliament’s central hall.  Before addressing the NDA leaders, Mr Modi bowed before the Constitution of India.

Reminding NDA leaders that from 2014 to 2019, the government for the poor, Mr Modi said in 2019 it were the poor who formed the government as they had reposed faith in his party and the government. Mr Modi also gave a few tips to NDA leaders, mainly newly elected MPs, on how to avoid bad press and controversies, including to avoid daily “messages to the nation”, a sense of entitlement and “VIP culture.”

He said the 2019 mandate was a “positive vote” for a “sakaratmak soch (positive thought)” and in favour of “pro-incumbency”.

“The central hall is witnessing a unique event. From here we are embarking on a new journey to achieve a new India with a renewed vigour... This strong mandate has added to our responsibilities. The verdict has proved that India’s democracy, its mandate, its voters and its neer kheer vivek (way of differentiating between right and wrong), cannot be measured,” said Mr Modi.

BJP president Amit Shah, NDA leaders Nitish Kumar, Parkash Singh Badal, Ramvilas Paswan, Uddhav Thackeray, and AIADMK convenor and Tamil Nadu chief minister E.K. Palaniswami along with chief ministers and deputy chief ministers of NDA ruled states, along with MPs and other senior BJP leaders present in the hall. BJP veterans L.K. Advani and M.M. Joshi also shared the dais with the NDA top brass, including Mr Modi.

Calling NDA “trustworthy,” Mr Modi called for the alliance to work with cohesion for the country’s development.

“The NDA represents the best of India...Our alliance has both energy and synergy. This is an alliance that will fulfil regional aspirations and cater to national ambitions,” said the PM.

Asking NDA MPs never to differentiate between those who voted for them and those who did not, Mr Modi said the motto should always be “Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas” because for a people’s representative there is no “paraya (alien)”.

Asking MPs to work towards uplifting the poor, Mr Modi said the poor had remained a topic of political discourse till 2014. He also asked MPs not to differentiate between anyone based on caste or religion and said just like the poor even minorities were duped nad were pushed towards fear.

‘For suraaj (good governance) we need to take everyone along... We have to pierce that deception... no discrimination against anyone... We have to take everyone along so that India reaches to a new height in the 21st century,” said Mr Modi.

Mr Modi also cautioned MPs against speculating who would join his council of ministers as he was yet to go through details of all the NDA MPs. Mr Modi also recalled how veteran LK Advani had once advised the party leaders to stay away from “chappas aur dikaas (enthusiasm to get ones name printed and shown on TV).”

Earlier, Mr Shah had moved the resolution to elect Mr Modi as BJP’s parliamentary party chief, which was seconded by Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari. SAD supremo Parkash Singh Badal moved the resolution to elect him as the NDA leader, which was seconded by JD(U)’s Nitish Kumar, Mr Thackeray, Mr Paswan and leaders of other NDA allies.

Tags: narendra modi, 2019 lok sabha polls
Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi