Friday, Oct 02, 2020 | Last Update : 02:05 AM IST

192nd Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra1400922110442637056 Andhra Pradesh7002356365085869 Karnataka6118374924128994 Tamil Nadu6032905463359586 Uttar Pradesh4031013468595864 Delhi2827522506135401 West Bengal2603242287555017 Odisha222734190080912 Kerala204242131048772 Telangana1936001634071135 Bihar178882164537888 Assam169985139977655 Gujarat1332191132403417 Rajasthan1288591077181441 Haryana1237821059901307 Madhya Pradesh117588932382207 Punjab107096840253134 Chhatisgarh9856566860777 Jharkhand7770964515661 Jammu and Kashmir69832495571105 Uttarakhand4533233642555 Goa3107125071386 Puducherry2548919781494 Tripura2412717464262 Himachal Pradesh136799526152 Chandigarh112128677145 Manipur9791760263 Arunachal Pradesh8649623014 Nagaland5768469311 Meghalaya5158334343 Sikkim2707199431 Mizoram178612880
  India   All India  24 May 2019  Giant killers Smriti Irani, Sadhvi Pragya defeat Congress stalwarts

Giant killers Smriti Irani, Sadhvi Pragya defeat Congress stalwarts

Published : May 24, 2019, 3:20 am IST
Updated : May 24, 2019, 6:47 am IST

BJP's Krishnapal Yadav defeated the scion of Scindia family, Jyotiraditya Scindia from his family's pocketborough, Guna.

Union minister Smriti Irani (Photo: PTI)
 Union minister Smriti Irani (Photo: PTI)

New Delhi: In the 'Namo Tsunami 2:0,' Union minister Smriti Irani, Sadhvi Pragya Thakur, Krishnapal Yadav, G.B. Basavraj and Ramesh Chandra Kaushik turned as one of the “giant killers” defeating their rivals in their pocket-boroughs. While Ms Irani defeated Congress president Rahul Gandhi from Amethi, which the Congress had been holding since 1980’s (and had lost briefly for a year in 1998,) Sadhvi Pragya Thakur, an accused in Malegaon bomb blast case, and BJP's Bhopal candidate garnered nearly 60 percent votes. Ms Thakur defeated former Madhya Pradesh chief minister and a Congress stalwart, Digvijay Singh. The BJP had to face severe criticism over its choice of fielding Ms Thakur and also some of her controversial remarks made during campaigning, including agaisnt Mahatama Gandhi's killer Nathuram Godse.  

BJP's Krishnapal Yadav defeated the scion of Scindia family, Jyotiraditya Scindia from his family's pocketborough, Guna. Former Prime Minister and JD(S) supremo HD Devegowda was also trailing behind in Southern Karnataka's Tumkur.


BJP's GS Basavraj was leading till late in the evening on this seat. JD(S) is ruling the state along with ally Congress and but both allies could not contain the BJP's surge, which they tried to check by joining hands in 2018.

BJP's Ramesh Chandra Kaushik turned out to be another 'giant killer' as former chief minister and Congress stalwart Bhupendra Hooda was trailing from Sonipat parliamentary seat till late evening. Haryana was one of the states, where caste combination and caste arithmetic  failed to outbeat the BJP's electoral strategy and Prime Minister Narendra Modi's popularity.

Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analysis et al. Happy reading.


Tags: 17thloksabhaelectionresults, smriti irani, sadhvi pragya
Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi