BJP wins 9 in Assam, allies disappoint

In Silchar, BJP's Rajdeep Roy was leading by 52,201 votes against sitting MP and Congress candidate Sushmita Dev.

Guwahati: Defying the regional narrative against the citizenship amendment Bill, Assam and other northeastern states overwhelmingly voted for Bharatiya Janata Party.

The BJP has taken a sizeable lead in nine out of 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam while its allies, the AGP and BPF, failed to win any of the four seats that they contested.

The Congress was leading in three seats and the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) had taken sizeable lead at Dhubri. Independent MP Naba Kumar Sarania was leading in Kokrajhar.

In Kaliabor, Congress candidate Gaurav Gogoi was leading by 1,78,530 votes against the AGP’s Moni Madhab Mahanta. Gogoi had bagged the seat in 2014 by a margin of nearly 93,874 votes.

In Mangaldoi, Mr Dilip Saikia of the BJP was leading by 1,07,694 votes over his Congress rival Bhubaneswar Kalita, while Rupak Sharma of the saffron party was trailing in Nowgong by a margin of 73,109 votes by his nearest rival Pradyut Bordoloi of the Congress.

In Silchar, BJP’s Rajdeep Roy was leading by 52,201 votes against sitting MP and Congress candidate Sushmita Dev. Ms Dev is also the president of All India Mahila Congress and daughter of former Union minister Santosh Mohan Dev while in Karmganj BJP candidate Kalpanath Mallah defeated AIUDF MP Radheshyam Biswas by 18,542 votes.

In Dhubri, AIUDF MP Badruddin Ajmal had taken a lead of 2,18,591 votes against his nearest rival, Abu Taher Bepari of the Congress.

In Barpeta, Abdul Khalque of the Congress was leading by 74,262 votes against the AGP candidate Kumar Deepak Das.

Gauhati initially witnessed a tough fight between the Congress’ Bobeeta Sharma and BJP’s Queen Oja. Later, the BJP candidate took a massive lead of 1,35,676 votes against the Congress candidate.

In Dibrugarh, Mr Rameshwar Teli of the BJP defeated his Congress rival Paban Singh Ghatowar by 3,51,594 votes, while in Jorhat, Tapan Kumar Gogoi of the BJP was maintaining a lead of 82,297 votes over Sushanta Borgohain of the Congress.

In North Lakhimpur BJP candidate and sitting MP Pradan Baruah had taken a lead of 3,44,542 against Congress candidate Anil Borgohain while in the prestigious Tezpur Lok Sabha seat BJP candidate Pallab Lochan Das was leading by 1,77,815 votes against his Congress rival M.G.V.K. K Bhanu a retired IAS officer.

BJP’s Horen Sing Bey wrested Karbi Anglong Autonomous District seat from Congress party by defeating sitting MP Biren Singh Engti by margin of more than 126638 votes.

The saffron party maintained its growth in frontier state of Arunachal Pradesh and Tripura by winning all the seats. In Arunachal Pradesh BJP candidate and union minister of state for home Kiren Rijiju was leading from Arunachal West seat by margin of 87023 votes against Congress candidate and former chief minister Nabama Tuki while Arunachal BJP president Tapir Gaon was leading by a margin of 45520 votes on the Arunachal East seat against his Congress rival Lowangcha Wanglat.

The BJP won both the seats of Tripura. On Tripura East seat BJP candidate Rebati Tripura defeated his nearest rival of Congress Maharaj Kumari Pragya Deb Barman by a margin of 170511 votes while on Western seat Pratima Bhowmik of BJP defeated Congress candidate Subal Bhowmik by a margin of 203860 votes.

In Meghalaya the ruling National Peoples Party candidate Agatha Sangma was declared elected from Tura Lok Sabha seat by a margin of 63775 votes against his nearest rival and former chief minister Mukul Sangma. The sitting Congress MP Vincent H Pala has taken a lead of 152139 votes against his rival of United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate Jemino Mawthoh.

In Manipur outer seat candidate of Nagaland Peoples Front Loho S Pfozo was leading by a margin of 96576 against his nearest rival of BJP Houlin S mate while on Inner seat BJOP candidate Rajkumar Ranjan Singh has taken a lead of 25705 voites against Congress candidate Oinam Naba Kishore.

In Nagaland which has only one seat Congress candidate K l Chishi was leading by a thin margin of 9406 votes against ruling NDPP candidate Tokheho Yepthomi.

In Mizoram candidate of ruling MNF C Lalrosanga was leading by 8307 votes against Independent candidate L Hmara.

Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analysis et al. Happy reading.

Next Story