A timeline of Naxal attacks across nation over the past 10 years

The worst attack took place on April 6, 2010, when a C'garh police official and 75 CRPF jawans were were killed in an ambush in Dantewada.

In a deadly attack by as many as 300 Naxals, at least 26 CRPF jawans were killed on Monday in Sukma, Chhatisgarh. This was the deadliest attack since May 2013, when 27 people, including Congress leaders and security personnel were killed.

Below is a chronology of major Naxal assaults over the past 10 years at a glance.

July 19, 2016: 10 died. CRPF commandos were suddenly attacked by Naxals in the jungles of Aurangabad district, Bihar with an IED blast. The ambush was followed by an encounter that claimed the lives of 10 CRPF jawans.

July 20, 2015: 2 SUVs, 1 tractor and 1 motorcycle set ablaze. Scroe of Naxals attacked a construction site in Banka district injuring several construction workers.

June 14, 2014: 3 passengers were killed while 6 were wounded. 500 Naxals attacked and hijacked the Dhanbad-Patna express train in Jamui district, fired gunshots and also detonated bombs.

April 10, 2014: 2 died, 6 were injured. A CRPF jeep was blown up during the Lok Sabha elections.

March 11, 2014: 15 security officials were killed in Sukhma district.

February 28, 2014: 6 policemen, including an SHO, were killed. The incident took place in Dantewada district of Chhattisgarh.

July 2, 2013: The Superintendent of Police and 5 other personnel of Pakur were killed in a maoist attack in Dumka, Jharkhand.

May 25, 2013: 27 dead. Former Chhattisgarh Congress chief Nand Kumar Patel and former state minister Mahendra Karma were killed along with several other Congress leaders, security personnel and villagers, in a Naxal attack in Darbha valley.

October 18, 2012: 6 died, 8 were injured. Gun battle and landmine blasts incapacitated a deputy commandant while injuring 7 other security personnel. The incident occurred in Gaya.

June 29, 2010: 26 killed. CRPF Jawans died in an ambush near Narayanpur district of Chhattisgarh.

May 8, 2010: 8 died. Naxals blew up a bullet-proof car in Bijapur district of Chhattisgar, killing 8 CRPF jawans.

April 6, 2010: 76 dead. A Chhattisgarh police official and 75 CRPF jawans brutally were killed in an ambush in Dantewada.

April 4, 2010: 11 died. The Koraput district of Odisha witnessed the death of 11 officials from the elite anti-Naxal force Special Operations Group.

Feb 15, 2010: 24 died. Security personnel belonging to the Eastern Frontier Rifles (EFR) were killed by Maoists inside their camp in Silda, West Midnapore.

Oct 8, 2009: 17 died. Police personnel killed in an attack at Laheri police station in Maharashtra. The incident occurred in Gadchiroli district of Maharashtra.

Sep 26, 2009: BJP MP’s sons were killed. Baliram Kashyap’s sons were killed in a maoist attack at Pairaguda village in Jagdalpur.

Sep 4, 2009: 4 villagers were killed in a forest in Aaded village, Chhattisgarh.

July 27, 2009: 6 were killed. A landmine blast in Datewada, triggered by Naxals, had claimed 6 lives.

July 18, 2009: 1 villager killed and 1 construction vehicle torched. A villager from Bastar district was killed by Naxalites while in another episode in Bijapur, a road construction vehicle was burnt down.

June 23, 2009: Naxals opened fire on Lakhisarai district court premises in Bihar to free four of their comrades. The freed comrades included the self-style Zonal Commander of Ranchi.

June 16, 2009: 11 police officers killed in a landmine and physical attack. In a different incident 4 police personnel were killed, while two were wounded in an ambush triggered by Maoists at Bundelkhand in Palamau district.

June 13, 2009: 10 killed, several others injured. In a small town close to Bokaro Naxals instigated two consecutive landmine and bomb attacks.

June 10, 2009: 9 police personnel along with CRPF troops were trapped and injured by Maoists during a scheduled patrol. The incident occurred in Saranda jungles of Jharkhand.

May 22, 2009: 16 policemen dead. Maoists instigated the killings of security troops and officers in the jungles of Gadchiroli in Maharashtra.

April 22, 2009: Train hijacked with 300 passengers on board. Maoists had forced its route from Jharkhand to Latehar where they finally escaped.

April 13, 2009: An attack on the bauxite mines of Koraput district in eastern Odisha led to the killings of 10 paramilitary troops.

July 16, 2008: 21 dead. Policemen die as a police van was blown up in a landmine blast. The incident was reported to have occurred in the Malkangiri district of Odisha.

June 29, 2008: 38 troops killed in ambush. Maoists launched an attack on a boat on Balimela reservoir in Odisha that was carrying 4 policemen and 60 Greyhound commandos.

Next Story