Monday, Oct 03, 2022 | Last Update : 05:00 AM IST

  India   All India  21 Jul 2018  Coveted ex-CM bungalows to go to bureaucrats

Coveted ex-CM bungalows to go to bureaucrats

Published : Jul 21, 2018, 12:48 am IST
Updated : Jul 21, 2018, 12:48 am IST

Status of house vacated by BSP chief Mayawati still undecided.

BSP chief Mayawati  (Photo: PTI)
 BSP chief Mayawati (Photo: PTI)

Lucknow: Hectic lobbying by senior ministers in the Yogi Adityanath government for plush bungalows vacated by six former chief ministers in Lucknow had put the government in a spot.

However, the state government has found a solution to this by deciding to allot these bungalows to senior bureaucrats instead of political leaders.

The Estate department has now sent a letter to the chief minister’s secretariat, seeking formal permission to allot these bungalows to senior officials.

According to sources, the six bungalows will be designated for the chairman board of revenue, agriculture production commissioner and principal home secretary. Officers who hold these posts will get to stay in these bungalows.

It may be recalled that the bungalows occupied by former chief ministers including Mulayam Singh Yadav, Mayawati, Rajnath Singh, Kalyan Singh, Akhilesh Yadav, and N. D. Tiwari had been vacated last month on the directives of the Supreme Court.

The status of the bungalow vacated by former UP chief minister Ms Mayawati is still undecided since a number of statues of dalit icons are installed inside and the former chief minister had claimed that it was a memorial for late Kanshi Ram.

Tags: mayawati, yogi adityanath government, bureaucrats, bungalow