Sunday, Sep 24, 2023 | Last Update : 03:24 AM IST

  India   All India  17 Apr 2018  16 Modi rallieslikely in Karnataka; BJP 2nd list out

16 Modi rallieslikely in Karnataka; BJP 2nd list out

Published : Apr 17, 2018, 1:48 am IST
Updated : Apr 17, 2018, 1:49 am IST

The Congress has fielded G.B. Malathesh against BJP’s chief ministerial candidate B.S. Yeddyurappa.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi
 Prime Minister Narendra Modi

New Delhi: The BJP on Monday announced a second list of 82 candidates for the Karnataka Assembly polls and unveiled plans to launch a campaign blitzkrieg led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi who will address 16 rallies in eight days beginning April 29.

The BJP’s second list has taken to 154 the number of constituencies for which it has declared its nominees. The Congress had announced 218 names on Sunday.

Elections for the 224 Assembly seats are scheduled on May 12 and the results will be announced on May 15.

Prominent names in the BJP’s second list include tainted mining baron G. Janardhan Reddy’s elder brother, G. Somashekar Reddy, from Bellary City, and son of late chief minister S. Bangarappa, Kumar Bangarappa, from Sorab.

Kumar Bangarappa quit the Congress last year and joined the BJP. He is set to contest against his younger brother Madhu Bangarappa of the Janata Dal (Secular), who defeated him in the 2013 polls.

With most predictions favouring a hung Assembly, the BJP is preparing to once again rely on Mr Modi’s charisma to push its “Congress Mukt” campaign in the southern state where it is facing a tough challenge.

Mr Modi will address his first rally in Kolar, southern Karantaka and another in Raichur on April 29.  

The Prime Minister will address two rallies on May 1 in Bellari and Belagavi and then two more rallies on May 3 in Chamarajanagar and Udupi. Mr Modi is expected to address public rallies in Jamakhandi and Bengaluru on May 5, Kalaburgi and Hubballi on May 6, Shivamonga and Tumkuru on May 7 and Mangalore and Bengaluru on the following day. The Prime Minister will address two more rallies on May 9 for which the venues are yet to be finalised.  The BJP had failed to retain power in 2013 when it managed to win just 40 seats while the Congress won 122 seats. H.D. Deve Gowda-led JD(S) won 40 seats.In the second list, the BJP has named from Sagar former state minister Haratalu Halappa, who had to quit over an alleged sexual assault case in 2009 in which he was acquitted last year. He earlier represented Sorab constituency.Among the prominent constituencies for which the party is yet to announce its candidates are Varuna, for which party’s chief ministerial candidate and former chief minister B.S. Yeddyurappa’s son B.Y. Vijayendra is said to be a strong contender.

The Congress has fielded chief minister Siddaramaiah’s son Yatheendra from Varuna, currently held by the chief minister who has shifted to Chamundeshwari. The BJP has not announced its candidate against the chief minister.

The Congress has fielded G.B. Malathesh against BJP’s chief ministerial candidate B.S. Yeddyurappa.

Tags: prime minister narendra modi, b s yeddyurappa, siddaramaiah