Friday, Sep 25, 2020 | Last Update : 07:13 AM IST

185th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra128396397321434345 Andhra Pradesh6543855794745558 Tamil Nadu5636915082109076 Karnataka5485574446588331 Uttar Pradesh3742773076115366 Delhi2606232243755123 West Bengal2378692080424606 Odisha196888161044805 Telangana1792461481391070 Bihar174266159700878 Assam165582135141608 Kerala15445898720614 Gujarat1289491093113382 Rajasthan1227201023301352 Haryana118554984101177 Madhya Pradesh115361814752007 Punjab105220814752860 Chhatisgarh9562358833680 Jharkhand7643862945626 Jammu and Kashmir68614480791024 Uttarakhand4440432154501 Goa3055224347360 Puducherry2489519311467 Tripura2378616955245 Himachal Pradesh133869232125 Chandigarh109688342123 Manipur9537736959 Arunachal Pradesh8416607113 Nagaland5730459810 Meghalaya4733252838 Sikkim2447190529 Mizoram158510120
  India   All India  14 Nov 2019  All 17 disqualified Karnataka MLAs to join BJP today

All 17 disqualified Karnataka MLAs to join BJP today

Published : Nov 14, 2019, 3:02 am IST
Updated : Nov 14, 2019, 3:05 am IST

The disqualified MLAs met our national leaders in Delhi after the Supreme Court verdict and will join the BJP at its state office Thursday morning.

BJP state President Nalin Kumar Kateel. (Photo: Twitter)
 BJP state President Nalin Kumar Kateel. (Photo: Twitter)

Bengaluru: Hours after the Supreme Court gave its order allowing the disqualified MLAs to contest the December 5 byelections, the   state BJP swung into action to induct all 17 into the party and  brainstormed on fielding them as its candidates for the seats that have fallen vacant following their resignations in July to bring down the Kumaraswamy government.

The former legislators themselves, headed by Mr Ramesh Jarkiholi rushed to the residence of BJP national organising secretary, B.L. Santhosh in Delhi, and discussed with him the formalities of joining the party and later left for Bengaluru where they will join the saffron party on Thursday.


Soon after the verdict, the BJP core committee held a meeting in Bengaluru on Wednesday and decided to induct all the disqualified MLAs into the party  Although after a lengthy discussion, the meeting chaired by BJP state president, Nalin Kumar Kateel arrived at a consensus on giving tickets to them, there was some indecision on Athani, Ranebennur, and Shivajinagar constituencies, according to party sources.

Speaking to reporters after the meeting, BJP senior leader and party core committee member, Aravind Limbavali said the disqualified MLAs would join the BJP Thursday morning and the party would take a decision on fielding them for the bypolls by Thursday evening.


“The disqualified MLAs met our national leaders in Delhi after the Supreme Court verdict and will join the BJP at its  state office Thursday morning.

The core committee has decided to induct all the MLAs into the party. But it has not yet taken a decision on giving tickets to all the MLAs for the bypolls.  

The party will announce its candidates for all 15 Assembly constituencies by Thursday evening,” he added.

Tags: nalin kumar kateel, supreme court
Location: India, Karnataka, Bengaluru