Wednesday, May 27, 2020 | Last Update : 03:07 AM IST

63rd Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra52667157861695 Tamil Nadu170828731119 Gujarat144686636888 Delhi140536771276 Rajasthan73004056167 Madhya Pradesh68593571300 Uttar Pradesh64973660169 West Bengal38161414278 Andhra Pradesh2886189256 Bihar273773313 Karnataka218270544 Punjab2081191340 Telangana1920116456 Jammu and Kashmir166880923 Odisha14386497 Haryana121380216 Kerala8975326 Assam549634 Jharkhand4051484 Uttarakhand349584 Chhatisgarh292670 Chandigarh2661874 Himachal Pradesh223634 Tripura1981650 Goa67190 Puducherry49170 Manipur3640 Meghalaya15121 Nagaland300 Arunachal Pradesh210 Mizoram110 Sikkim100

3 Majhis fight for honour in Odisha

Published : Apr 5, 2019, 6:31 am IST
Updated : Apr 5, 2019, 6:31 am IST

In 2014 general elections, Pradeep Majhi was defeated by BJD nominee Balabhadra Majhi by a narrow margin of 2,042 votes.

Pradeep Majhi
 Pradeep Majhi

Bhubaneswar: Three Majhis — Pradeep Majhi, Balabhadra Majhi and Ramesh Majhi — are vying for honour in Odisha Nabarangpur district which is going to polls on April 11.

While Pradeep Majhi, a former Lok Sabha member, is contesting on the Congress ticket, Balabhadra Majhi, a sitting Lok Sabha member who was elected as BJD nominee, is this time seeking re-election on the BJP ticket.

On the other hand, Ramesh Majhi, the state information technology minister, has been fielded by BJD.

In 2014 general elections, Pradeep Majhi was defeated by BJD nominee Balabhadra Majhi by a narrow margin of 2,042 votes.

Of the seven assembly segments under Nabarangpur Lok Sabha constituency- Umerkote, Dabugam, Chitrakonda, Jharigan, Kotpad, Nabarangpur and Malkangiri - Chitrakonda had given the then BJD Lok Sabha candidate Balabhadra the highest lead of 26,618 votes against his nearest Congress rival Pradeep Majhi, helping the ruling party bag the seat. While Balabhadra had polled 50,302 votes against 23,684 votes by Pradeep, the BJP candidate Parsuram Majhi had managed only 19,302 votes from Chitrakonda Assembly segment in 2014.

In the changed political scenario where the Nabarangpur MP is seeking re-election from the same constituency on BJP ticket this time against BJD’s Ramesh, it remains to be seen who among the two Majhis can maintain the 2014 lead from the Chitrakonda segment.

Political observers feel it might be a tough task for the BJD to win the constituency as Balabhadra Majhi can sway voters in favour of BJP this time, though it is yet to be sure if the latter can defeat the Congress nominee Pradeep Majhi who has strong organizational base at the grassroots.

Known as mass leader, Pradeep Majhi sweated it out in the entire constituency for the past five years, leading several socio-economic movements.

The BJP supporters claim that riding on the popularity graph of the Modi government that has gone up after the Balakot air strike, their nominee would pull up a surprise. They contend that the party has also successfully consolidated its vote bank in all the constituencies.

Tags: pradeep majhi, balabhadra majhi
Location: India, Odisha, Bhubaneswar