Shah Rukh Khan, Anil, Madhuri invited to join Oscar Academy

They're among the 20 Indians who have been extended the honour.

Shah Rukh Khan, Madhuri Dixit, Anil Kapoor, Naseeruddin Shah, Tabu, Aditya Chopra and Ali Fazal are among the 20 Indians who have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the organisation that conducts the Oscars.

The Academy has extended invitations to a record 928 artistes and executives who have distinguished themselves through their contributions to theatrical motion pictures. This marks the third year in a row that the Academy has broken its own record in terms of number of invitations. Last year, invitations were sent to 774 people.

The Oscar-awarding body is making an attempt to include more women, people of colour and international filmmakers.

Next Story