ECI identifies 872 polling stations as ‘critical’

The Asian Age.  | Sonu Shrivastava

Metros, Mumbai

A total of 33,314 polling stations have been set up across the 17 constituencies.

Election Commission of India

Mumbai: The state branch of Election Commission of India (ECI) has identified 872 polling stations as critical in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha election. A senior official of ECI said that these polling stations would be monitored via webcasting and placed under the surveillance of micro-observers.

A total of 33,314 polling stations have been set up across the 17 constituencies. There are 1,20,285 electronic voting machines (EVMs) including 76,850 ballot units and 43,435 control units in 17 constituencies. Also, 46,564 VVPATs will be used in all seats. Around 3,11,92,823 voters will exercise their franchise in 17 constituencies.

An official of the state branch of the ECI said that there are 118 critical polling booths in Mumbai city, which comprises the Mumbai South and South Central seats. Besides, there are 65 critical booths in suburban Mumbai including eight in Mumbai North, 13 in Mumbai North West, 30 in Mumbai North Central and 14 in Mumbai North East seats.

The highest numbers critical polling stations are in Thane: 202. There are 195 critical polling stations in Kalyan, 178 polling stations in Bhiwandi, 53 in Nashik, 14 in Dindori, 44 in Maval, 19 in Shirur and 14 in Palghar.

The official also said that the polling process would be monitored through webcasting. Meanwhile, the ECI has directed all returning officers (ROs) to ensure that people are not allowed to take their mobile phones inside the polling booths.

Out of 3,11,92,823 eligible voters, 1,66,31,707 are men,

Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analyses etc all. Happy reading.