In 3rd Gujarat list, BJP drops 16 MLAs

The Asian Age.

India, Politics

Chief minister Vijay Rupani filed his nomination papers from Rajkot West constituency. He was accompanied by Arun Jaitley.

Vijay Rupani

New Delhi: As discontentment grows between the Congress and the Hardik Patel-led Patidar organisation, the BJP on Monday released its third list of 28 candidates and claimed that Gujarat is witnessing a contest between “anarchist and divisive forces” on one side and stability, growth and progress under BJP’s rule on the other.

With these 28 names, the BJP has so far declared 134 candidates of the total 182 seats. The last date for filing of nomination for the 89-seats that will go to polls in the first phase on December 9, will end on Tuesday. In the first phase, mainly seats from Saurashtra, Kutch and South Gujarat will go to polls.

Among the names that included in the third list was that of former minister Saurabh Patel from Botad and former state party chief R.C. Faldu from Jamnagar-South seat. Mr Patel is currently an MLA from Akota. The BJP has also dropped minister Nanu Vanani from Katargam seat in Surat and has given ticket to Vinubhai Moradiya in his place. The party has dropped nearly 16 sitting MLAs, including three ministers in the third list.

Among the ministers whose name doesn’t appear in the list are Jayanti Kavadia from Dhrangadhra seat, Vallabh Vaghasia  from Savarkundla and Nanu Vanani from Katargam seat.

Gujarat Assembly Speaker and dalit leader Ramanbhai Vora, who represents Idar (SC) seat in the current Assembly, has been fielded from Dasada(SC). Sitting MLA, Punambhai Makwana, has been denied ticket.

Meanwhile, chief minister Vijay Rupani filed his nomination papers for contesting from Rajkot West constituency. He was accompanied by Union finance minister and incharge of state elections Arun Jaitley. Filing his papers apparently at a “subhmuhurat (auspicious timimg)”, Mr Rupani also offered prayers and claimed that his party will win more than 150 seats this time.