Saturday, Sep 21, 2019 | Last Update : 06:00 AM IST

Politics Page-12

Arif Mohammed Khan takes charge as Kerala Governor

Chief Justice of Kerala High Court Hrishikesh Roy administered oath of office to Khan in presence of state Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan.

06 Sep 2019 2:43 PM

Manoj Tiwari takes dig at Chidambaram, says 'you reap what you sow'

His son, Karti Chidambaram, already has bail in the INX media case which was granted to him by the Delhi High Court last year.

06 Sep 2019 1:42 PM

'Investigating agency should not discriminate': Special judge on Aircel-Maxis case

The ED is also probing a separate money laundering case in the Aircel-Maxis matter, in which Chidambarams have been questioned by agency.

06 Sep 2019 12:25 PM

AAP MLA Alka Lamba quits party, says 'time to say good bye'

The AAP said that it is ready to accept her resignation even on Twitter.

06 Sep 2019 10:38 AM

NDB to provide Rs 6,000 crore loan to Andhra Pradesh for social infrastructure projects

The Shanghai-based Bank has lent over Rs 75,000 crore to various project till date all over the world and Rs 25,000 crores in India alone.

06 Sep 2019 10:00 AM


Rashtriya Bajrang Dal calls for 12-hour shutdown against final NRC list in Assam today

Rashtriya Bajrang Dal, he said, has chalked out a series of agitational programmes like an indefinite hunger strike.

06 Sep 2019 9:24 AM

In faux pas, Goa govt releases Teachers Day statement that quoted late CM Manohar Parrikar

Director of Information and Publicity Meghana Shetgaonkar told PTI an inquiry has been initiated to find out the erring officer.

06 Sep 2019 8:43 AM

69-yr-old farmer dies standing in queue for urea in Telangana, BJP blames govt

The deceased, identified as Ellaiah, hails from Achamayapalli, Dubbaka Mandal in Siddipet District.

06 Sep 2019 8:33 AM

Priyanka Gandhi targets govt over slowdown

The Congress has already demanded a white paper on the prevailing economic situation in the country.

06 Sep 2019 1:54 AM

‘Diggy’s man’ may be dark horse for PCC chief post

Patwari was camping in Delhi to expedite clearance of several proposals relating to his department in the Union government.

06 Sep 2019 1:52 AM


Bengaluru court issues summons to Kumaraswamy in land de-notification case

The Special Court for Elected Representatives directed Kumaraswamy to appear for questioning on October 4.

05 Sep 2019 8:50 PM

Rahul Gandhi thanks social media trolls, political adversaries on teacher's day

Taking a jibe at trolls, his 'political adversaries and journalists with an agenda', he thanked them claiming they made him stronger.

05 Sep 2019 6:42 PM

Mamata Banerjee hits out at BJP, says it should not dream of ruling Bengal

At an event, held on Teachers' Day, the West Bengal CM also accused Centre of not giving adequate funds to the state governments.

05 Sep 2019 6:21 PM

Central govt prepares roadmap for development in J-K, Ladakh

The Home Ministry will raise additional one battalion each of BSF, CRP for J&K, Ladakh in order to create job opportunities for youth.

05 Sep 2019 4:31 PM

'What was the state of economy 5-6 yrs ago?' Anurag Thakur attacks Manmohan Singh, Chidambaram

He also asserted that the Modi government was taking all necessary steps to boost the economy.

05 Sep 2019 3:47 PM


UP: BSP chief Mayawati meets party leaders to discuss upcoming by-polls

All the district presidents, assembly speaker, former MLAs and MPs and other important party officials would attend the meeting.

05 Sep 2019 3:35 PM

Congress, NCP to contest on 125 seats each in upcoming Maharashtra assembly polls: Husain Dalwai

Husain Dalwai also stated that discussions are ongoing for finalising candidates for all other seats.

05 Sep 2019 2:59 PM

Protest, shutdown after D K Shivakumar's arrest affects parts of Karnataka

Several top state leaders, including former chief ministers Siddaramaiah and H D Kumaraswamy, have condemned the arrest of Shivakumar.

05 Sep 2019 11:42 AM

India has never been aggressor but will not hesitate in using its strength to defend itself: Rajnath Singh

Singh is also expected to hold talks with counterpart Jeong Kyeong-Doo, the Minister of National Defence.

05 Sep 2019 10:22 AM

Many people became foreigners in their own country after NRC: Tharoor

The opposition parties have raised fears that a large number of Indian citizens have been excluded from the NRC.

05 Sep 2019 10:13 AM