Wednesday, May 22, 2024 | Last Update : 07:37 AM IST

Rajya Sabha elections

Parsa Venkateshwar Rao Jr | Cong’s slide in Himachal sign of a deeper malaise

Cross-voting chaos in Himachal as Congress faces dissent, BJP claims majority, creating a political turmoil

01 Mar 2024 2:49 AM

AA Edit | Himachal turmoil doesn’t augur well for democracy

Orchestrated defections challenge the essence of democracy, prompting questions about political integrity and institutional strength

29 Feb 2024 12:00 AM

Sonia Gandhi files nomination for RS elections from Rajasthan

Party treasurer Ajay Maken has been fielded from Karnataka and Abhishek Singhvi from Himachal Pradesh

15 Feb 2024 1:53 AM

It's a convincing victory for BJP: Fadnavis on party winning 3 RS seats in Maha

BJP candidates - Union minister Piyush Goyal, former state minister Anil Bonde and Dhananjay Mahadik - won the fiercely-fought elections

11 Jun 2022 12:37 PM

BJP, Congress win 3 Rajya Sabha seats each in Karnataka, Rajasthan

Congress candidates Randeep Surjewala, Mukul Wasnik and Pramod Tiwari were elected to the Rajya Sabha

11 Jun 2022 6:46 AM


Like Congress, BJP shifts Rajasthan MLAs to a resort before RS polls

The ruling Congress has fielded three candidates from the state for the Rajya Sabha

07 Jun 2022 7:15 AM

Wary Congress picks Kharge, Baghel to handle Rajya Sabha elections

The elections to the upper house will be held on June 10

06 Jun 2022 12:59 AM

Parsa Venkateshwar Rao Jr | RS polls: A chance to wean out old-timers, dissidents?

Politics of fairly high stakes are being played out by various parties in choosing candidates for the Upper House

04 Jun 2022 12:54 AM

Monsoon session: Congress to take on Centre over China, economy

The party will also raise the issue of the handling of Covid-19 pandemic amid a sharp rise in the number of cases, besides economic slump

09 Sep 2020 1:12 PM

BJP wins Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat, MP and Rajasthan, improves tally in Upper House

Fifty-five seats in the Rajya Sabha fell vacant in April, to which 37 candidates were elected unopposed in March itself.

20 Jun 2020 8:44 AM


Hold both Gujarat RS polls together: Congress

While if the polls to both the seats are held simultaneously, both the parties are expected to get one seat each.

14 Jun 2019 2:43 AM

NOTA voting option cannot be allowed in Rajya Sabha polls: SC

SC sets aside Election Commission's notification allowing NOTA option in the ballot papers for Rajya Sabha polls.

21 Aug 2018 12:23 PM

Nota in Rajya Sabha election: Supreme Court reserves verdict

KK Venugopal said, if a person is voting against the interest of the party, action could be taken against him.

31 Jul 2018 6:20 AM

SC to hear Ahmed Patel's plea challenging petition against his election to RS

A bench comprising of Chief Justice Dipak Misra and Justices AM  Khanwilkar and DY Chandrachud said the court will hear on July 9.

02 Jul 2018 5:57 PM

End of the road for BJP-SBSP alliance in UP?

Om Prakash Rajbhar’s charter of demands include and a larger share of seats for the Lok Sabha elections.

25 Mar 2018 4:32 AM


BSP MLA Anil Singh cross-votes for BJP candidate in Rajya Sabha election

Voting is underway in Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Kerala.

23 Mar 2018 12:16 PM

Here's a complete guide to today's Rajya Sabha elections

The BJP is guaranteed 28 of 59 of seats that will fall vacant in April.

23 Mar 2018 9:33 AM

All you need to know about Rajya Sabha elections 2018

Rajya Sabha members are elected for a six-year term. One-third of the members of the Upper House of parliament retire after every two years.

23 Mar 2018 9:08 AM

Voting for 25 Rajya Sabha seats begins: Will BJP win ninth seat in Uttar Pradesh?

Besides Uttar Pradesh West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Telangana will also feature in the polls.

23 Mar 2018 8:51 AM

BJP's UP ally threatens party with boycotting Rajya Sabha polls

SBSP chief and UP min Om Prakash RajbharRajbhar said, 'If I don't get to speak to Amit Shah, I will boycott the voting for RS elections.'

19 Mar 2018 2:56 PM