Tuesday, Jan 18, 2022 | Last Update : 10:16 PM IST

2019 lok sabha elections Page-8

4 Congress turncoats who won on BJP tickets take oath as MLAs in Gujarat

The MLAs took oath at the Speaker's chamber in the Assembly building.

28 May 2019 2:53 PM

11KV lines in Bangalore will go underground in 3-4 years, says K’taka Deputy CM

The JD(S)-Congress coalition which is in power in state went through a rough patch during the campaigning of the recently held elections.

28 May 2019 2:17 PM

Owaisi has habit of sowing hatred: Giriraj Singh

On Monday, Asaduddin Owaisi responded to a tweet which claimed that a Muslim hawker was shot at in Bihar's Begusarai.

28 May 2019 1:53 PM

PM Modi calls Pranab Mukherjee as ‘statesman’; seeks blessing from ex-Prez

Since leading the BJP to a victory in the Lok Sabha battle, Modi has been meeting senior leaders ahead of his swearing in on Thursday.

28 May 2019 1:21 PM

Nehru-Gandhi family largest vote-getter for Congress: Salman Khurshid

The Congress leader said that all party workers including him stand by the Nehru-Gandhi family.

28 May 2019 1:20 PM


Goa House strength back to 40 as four MLAs take oath

Acting Speaker Michael Lobo administered the oath to the MLAs--three from the BJP and one from the Congress.

28 May 2019 1:01 PM

After Nehru and Rajiv Gandhi, Modi most charismatic leader: Rajinikanth

'I will be going for the swearing in ceremony of Narendra Modi ji,' he said.

28 May 2019 12:46 PM

Priyanka, Sachin Pilot meet Rahul Gandhi at his residence

This meeting came after Gandhi had offered to step down from his party post at the CWC meeting.

28 May 2019 11:56 AM

'I have no plans to join BJP,' says Gujarat MLA Alpesh Thakor

Last month, along with Alpesh Thakor, MLA Dhavalsinh Thakor and MLA Bharatji Thakor also resigned from the Congress.

28 May 2019 11:18 AM

Siddaramaiah says Karnataka coalition strong, dismisses Yeddyurappa's claim

'Yeddyurappa has been saying that the govt will fall. He will continue to say the same for the next four years,' Siddaramaiah said.

28 May 2019 8:41 AM


Kejriwal made Sanjay Singh AAP's state in-charge of Odisha, Rajasthan, UP, Bihar

The decision was taken in a party's political affairs committee meeting, chaired by AAP supremo and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

27 May 2019 8:12 PM

RJD MLA asks Tejashwi Yadav to quit as Bihar opposition leader

The NDA comprising of BJP, JD(U) and LJP won 39 out of 40 seats in Bihar.

27 May 2019 7:57 PM

Sheila Dikshit sets 5-member panel after Congress's defeat in LS polls in Delhi

The committee members include Parvez Hashmi, Dr AK Walia, Dr Yoganand Shastri, national spokesperson Pawan Khera and Jaikishan (ex-MLA).

27 May 2019 5:53 PM

Development only way to win elections not caste-based politics: Amit Shah in UP

Of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in UP, BJP won 62 in the recently concluded elections.

27 May 2019 4:28 PM

K’taka govt will collapse after June 10: Cong leader KN Rajanna

On Sunday, two Congress MLAs Ramesh Jarkiholi and Sudhakar met BJP leader R Ashok at veteran leader SM Krishna's residence in Bengaluru.

27 May 2019 4:19 PM


BJP got mandate to run govt at Centre not to destabilise K'taka govt: Siddaramaiah

'Election results came against us but that do not mean state Assembly should be dissolved, it is nonsense,' Siddaramaiah said.

27 May 2019 4:12 PM

DMK leader Dayanidhi Maran meets MKK president, expresses thanks

'I thank the people who voted me to power,' Dayanidhi Maran said.

27 May 2019 4:09 PM

Lalu Yadav, gives up lunch after NDA defeats RJD in LS polls

The doctor said Mr Prasad's health parameters are normal.

27 May 2019 3:26 PM

Heat of PM Modi's roadshow forced few to migrate: Yogi jibes at Rahul

Rahul Gandhi won from Wayanad with a huge margin of votes but faced defeat against Smriti Irani in Amethi, a traditional Congress bastion.

27 May 2019 2:57 PM

Jharkhand, Punjab, Assam Cong chief offers to resign after defeat in LS polls

The Congress party fared poorly in the Lok Sabha polls across the country, managing to win only 52 seats.

27 May 2019 2:21 PM