Tuesday, Mar 05, 2024 | Last Update : 01:51 PM IST

2019 lok sabha elections Page-5

Decisive mandate for PM Modi to build new India: President Kovind

Kovind said the verdict is an affirmation of Modi's visionary leadership to build a New India, not in a distant future, but here and now.

31 May 2019 3:57 PM

Modi sarkar 2.0: Names, portfolios of MoS announced

Anurag Singh Thakur, Babul Supriyo, Hardeep Singh Puri, Kiren Rijiju, Jitendra Singh are among the prominent faces in MoS.

31 May 2019 2:34 PM

Modi sarkar 2.0: Names, portfolios of Cabinet ministers announced

The first meeting of the new Union Cabinet will take place on Friday at 5:30 pm, a government official said.

31 May 2019 1:00 PM

He is very selfish: BJP MP slams Nitish for opting out of Cabinet

'Nitish only thinks for his own benefits. He is very selfish and takes decisions for his own benefits. He is very selfish,' said RS MP.

31 May 2019 12:22 PM

Mayawati calls for meeting of BSP leaders to discuss poll drubbing

This is the first meeting of the party after the conclusion of national elections.

31 May 2019 11:59 AM


Modi sarkar 2.0: Old, new faces in PM's cabinet; portfolios to be out today

The first meeting of the new Union Cabinet will take place on Friday at 5:30 pm, a government official said.

31 May 2019 11:23 AM

India steadfast on path of progress under Modi: Arun Jaitley

'I wish the very best to all the members inducted in the Union Council of Ministers,' Jaitley said.

31 May 2019 10:08 AM

Modi sarkar 2.0: Themes that dominated PM's swearing-in ceremony

Among the ministers who were sworn in, most of them chose to take oath in Hindi while the rest did it in English.

31 May 2019 9:39 AM

Unfairly 'singled out' for Cong's loss: Navjot Sidhu hits back at Amarinder Singh

His reaction came after CM said that Sidhu's performance as a minister needed to be reviewed.

31 May 2019 9:16 AM

Looking forward to work with you: Congress to PM Modi's new cabinet

In the 17th Lok Sabha elections, Congress won just 52 seats across the country and BJP won 303.

31 May 2019 9:04 AM


Do yoga for next 10 years: Ramdev tips Oppn on how to deal with stress

The 58-member council of ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by President Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday evening.

31 May 2019 8:37 AM

Modi sarkar 2.0: PM Modi brings fresh faces; 20 first-timers in cabinet

Among the prominent ones to take the oath were Anurag Thakur, Arvind Sawant and S Jaishankar.

30 May 2019 10:18 PM

Don't want any symbolic participation in the government: JD(U) chief Nitish

Nitish Kumar has said that JD(U) will still remain a part of the NDA but will not be part of the government.

30 May 2019 6:40 PM

'Cong-JD(S) govt functioning smoothly': K'taka CM assures after meeting Rahul

Two Congress MLAs – Ramesh Jarkiholi and Sudhakar -- met BJP leaders at Krishna's residence, claiming their visit as apolitical.

30 May 2019 6:34 PM

T’gana Cong leader along with party workers protest against Rahul's resignation

Taking moral responsibility for defeat in polls, Congress president had offered to resign on May 25, but it was rejected 'unanimously'.

30 May 2019 5:58 PM


Traitor of Cong should be punished: Sidhu stands by his words

Earlier on May 24, Chief Minister Singh had hinted at changing the portfolio of his Cabinet colleague Sidhu.

30 May 2019 5:35 PM

AP CM promises Rs 3k per month for senior citizens, corruption-free governance

Reddy was sworn in on Thursday at the Indira Gandhi Municipality Stadium in front of a huge crowd of his party workers and admirers.

30 May 2019 3:16 PM

KCR wishes next 4 terms as Andhra CM for Jagan Mohan Reddy

Jagan also wished DMK chief MK Stalin that he would become Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

30 May 2019 3:15 PM

Gehlot accuses BJP of destabilizing state governments of opposition parties

In MP, BJP had demanded a floor test in the assembly, which was welcomed by CM Kamal Nath.

30 May 2019 3:04 PM

Happy over Modi's oath, West Bengal 'chaiwala' offers free tea

In Birbhum, 31 priests performed Yagya at Tarapith temple hours before Modi's swearing-in at 7 pm in the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

30 May 2019 2:55 PM