Jeremiah the big winner

P. Shroff-trained Jeremiah was well ridden by S. Zervan to win the Vijay Textiles Deccan Derby (Grade I) 2000 metres, the highlight of the races held here on Wednesday.


1. The Kolkata Cup 1400M: Lumiere Blanche 60 (A.M. Tograllu) 1, Secret Angel 56 (P. Trevor) 2, Santa Monica 57 (Suraj Narredu) 3, Al Sarraah 58 (A. Imran Khan) 4. Won by: 1-1/2, Nk, 2-3/4. Time: 1:27.12. Favourite: Santa Monica. Winner owned by: M/s V. Krishna Rama Mohan Rao, V.N. Babu & Dr Sudharshan Reddy Proddutur. Winner trained by: Laxman Singh.
2. The Commanche Cup 1600M: Roses In Bloom 60 (A. Imran Khan) 1, Machine Gun 56.5 (A. Sandesh) 2, Rio Rojo 60 (S. John) 3, Noble Citizen 53 (A.M. Tograllu) 4. Won by: 3-3/4, 6, 3-1/2. Time: 1:40.52. Favourite: Roses In Bloom. Winner owned by: Mr S.A. Shehzad Abbas. Winner trained by: S.A. Shehzad Abbas.
3. The Mumbai Cup 1200M: Power Drive 52 (Dashrath Singh) 1, Beau Ideal 52.5 (D.K. Ashish) 2, Nano Belle 52 (Ajit Kumar) 3, Golconda King 53 (A. Sandesh) 4. Won by: ¾, 5-1/4, ½. Time: 1:13.64. Favourite: Golconda King. Winner owned by: Dr Peddi Reddy Prabhakar Reddy & Mr P. Prabhakar Reddy. Winner trained by: D. Netto.
4. The Chennai Cup 1600M: Galiat 53 (Dashrath Singh) 1, Winjoy 54 (A. Sandesh) 2,
Sherman Oaks 56.5 (Suraj Narredu) 3, Aventus 56 (Imran Chisty) 4. Won by: 3, ½, ½. Time: 1:40.20. Favourite: Sherman Oaks. Winner owned by: M/s Prakash Babu, Rajesh Sanghani & Prit Pal Singh Gandhi. Winner trained by: D. Netto.
5. The Bangalore Cup 1000M: Marquise 57 (S. John) 1, Naughty Gal 62 (A. Imran Khan) 2, Ice Lolly 57.5 (P. Sai Kumar) 3, Ace Star 45.5 (A.S. Pawar) 4. Won by: 1/2, 1-1/4, ½. Time: 1:00.86. Favourite: Naughty Gal. Winner owned by: M/s Faiyaz Shaikh, Vijay Kumar Agarwal & Eswarachandra Rajagopal Tripuraneni. Winner trained by: Faiyaz Shaikh.
6. The Bhagyanagar Cup 1200M: Star Engagement 53 (Ashhad Asbar) 1, Ponte Verdi 56.5 (J. Vikas) 2, The Best Man 51.5 (Deep Shanker) 3, Sugar Deal 54 (M. Mark) 4. Won by: 1, ½, 1-1/2. Time: 1:15.43. Favourite: Star Engagement. Winner owned by: Mr V. Narendar Reddy. Winner trained by: S.S. Faisal Hassan.
7. The Mrs Lakshmi Bhupal Reddy Memorial Cup 1400M: Aware 61 (S. John) 1, Winds Of Victory 60.5 (P.S. Chouhan) 2, Greek Star 60.5 (Harinder Singh) 3, Equalizer 58 (A.Imran Khan) 4. Won by: 3-1/2, Shd, 3-1/2. Time: 1:28.72. Favourite: Winds Of Victory. Winner owned by: Mr Md. Sultan. Winner trained by: Sk. Kassam.
8. The Turf Authorities Cup 1200M: Vijays Conquer 62 (A.M. Tograllu) 1, Sweet Candy 50.5 (Imran Chisty) 2, Odalis 50 (K.Mukesh Kumar) 3, Silver Crown 52 (S. Shiva Kumar) 4. Won by: ¼, 1-1/2, 1-1/4. Time: 1:12.81. Favourite: Super Duper. Winner owned by: Mr Vijay Kumar Gupta & Mr Susheel Kumar Gupta Rep.M/S.Vijay Racing & Farms Private Limited and Mr Srikanth Reddy Muppidi. Winner trained by: Laxman Singh.
9. The Vijay Textiles Deccan Derby (Grade I) 2000M: Jeremiah 56 (S. Zervan) 1, Charlatan 56 (P. Trevor) 2, Racing Ahead 56 (P.S. Chouhan) 3, Arrogant Approach 56 (Imran Chisty) 4. Won by: 1-1/2, 4-3/4, Shd. Time: 2:05.54. Favourite: Jeremiah. Winner owned by: M/s Haresh N. Mehta And Manav H. Mehta rep. M/s Rohan Bloodstock Pvt. Ltd, Mr Rakesh R. Jhunjhunwala, Mr. Jaydev M. Modi rep. M/s J.M. Livestock Pvt. Ltd. Winner trained by: P. Shroff.
10. The Tanasha Plate 1000M: Bold Attack 60 (P. Sai Kumar) 1, Ceremonious 57.5 (A. Imran Khan) 2, Camacho Speed 62 (M. Mark) 3, Princely Right 61.5 (Ajit Kumar) 4. Won by: Shd, Hd, ¾, Time: 1:01.87. Favourite: Flames Of Forest. Winner owned by: Mr N. Vishnu Vardhan Reddy & Mrs Inderjit Garcha. Winner trained by: K.S.V. Prasad Raju.

Don’t knock a man when he is down” is an excellent maxim, and that must be the only reason that the knives are not out for Britain’s Prime Minister, David Cameron.

Was it complacency? Or did so many of us just not imagine this could possibly happen? For Londoners Brexit bore specially bad tidings, as they had voted to “Remain”.