Tuesday, Aug 04, 2020 | Last Update : 11:46 AM IST

133rd Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra45019628703015842 Tamil Nadu2632222022834241 Andhra Pradesh166586886781537 Karnataka139571625002594 Delhi1384821242544021 Uttar Pradesh97362553931778 West Bengal78232548181731 Telangana6766048609551 Gujarat64684476632504 Bihar5956738508336 Rajasthan4555532051719 Assam4527633429109 Haryana3717330470440 Odisha3629723074248 Madhya Pradesh3428524099900 Kerala268731527885 Jammu and Kashmir2200614032407 Punjab1852711882442 Jharkhand135004794125 Chhatisgarh9820725661 Uttarakhand7800453890 Goa6816487656 Tripura5389360527 Puducherry3982241156 Manipur292017667 Himachal Pradesh2818165813 Nagaland21296574 Arunachal Pradesh175810633 Chandigarh116070619 Meghalaya9022645 Sikkim6882971 Mizoram4962660
  India   Politics  11 Feb 2020  Delhi election results: AAP takes early lead

Delhi election results: AAP takes early lead

Published : Feb 11, 2020, 8:30 am IST
Updated : Feb 11, 2020, 8:30 am IST

Preliminary leads show AAP ahead with 37 and BJP 12 leading in 12

Security personnel at the Atal Adarsh Bengali Girls Senior Secondary School, one of the counting centres for the Delhi Assembly pol. (PTI)ls
 Security personnel at the Atal Adarsh Bengali Girls Senior Secondary School, one of the counting centres for the Delhi Assembly pol. (PTI)ls

New Delhi: Very early trends in the Delhi Asembly election results put the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leading in 35 seats, followed by the BJP in 12 and the Congress in none.

 Counting of votes in the Delhi Assembly election began Tuesday morning amid tight security at various centres set up to carry out the exercise.


Exit polls have predicted a win for the ruling Aam Aadmi Party, but the BJP leaders maintained that the surveys would fall flat.

Counting began at 8 am and will be held in multiple rounds, chief electoral officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh said.

Postal ballots will be counted first till around 8.30 am and then the votes cast through electronic voting machines will be counted.

The counting centres are spread across 21 locations, spanning 70 constituencies. Each centre has several counting halls, equal to the number of constituencies falling in that district.

Each EVM consists of a ballot unit (BU), a controls units (CU) and a voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT.)


After counting of votes through CUs from every constituency, five VVPATs will be randomly selected and counted.

The election, largely seen as a battle between the AAP and the BJP, was held on Saturday, sealing the fate of 672 candidates -- 593 men and 79 women. The final voter turnout was 62.59 per cent, five per cent less than 2015.

Tags: delhi assembly, delhi poll results, aam aadmi party, bjp, congress